Brunch in Taj


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
February 12th 2006
Published: February 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Another day to make a backpacker weep. The four of us went for brunch at the Taj West End hotel, an upscale venue with an enormous spread of food in the eat-all-you-like buffet. My stomach was giving me a little bit of trouble but I couldn't resist so many tempting dishes and had a decent-sized meal. I could have done some serious damage if I'd been fully healthy, which I regretted. The building itself was extremely opulent, so this was a far cry from the usual places I've been eating in. Afterwards we had tea in a bookstore in a mall. Very relaxing indeed.

In the evening, I watched 2 Bollywood films - "Garam Masala", which was cheesy slapstick, and "Parineeta", a remake of an old film that contained all the elements of passion, violence, misunderstandings, and redemption, plus obviously singing and dancing, that I would hope to find in such a movie. Great entertainment, and apparently an accurate evocation of life in '60s Calcutta. I'd like to see something like this in a movie theatre, but hopefully I can do that in Mumbai.

I was feeling so pampered that I forgot to take any photos. This is dangerous, dangerous stuff.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb