Internet Finally!!!!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Jammu & Kashmir » Vaishnodevi
February 3rd 2012
Published: February 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

Well so many amazing experiences since the last post. The Nepalese government have introduced hydro electricity which you might think is a good thing, but they sell 90% of there electricity to India so they only have power for a few hours a day. Hence no internet, nor lights or anything else for that matter. If you have money you can buy a generator and use that for power. (I'm staying in a place with a generator)

I stayed in an OSHO meditation centre in the mountains for 3 days. It was so beautiful! I had 5 meditation classes a day. Did you know that there are 112 different types of meditation? I didn't. Only one of these types are the sitting still type with eyes closed. I experienced some interesting meditation methods! One of which involved 10 min crazy dancing 10 mins screaming 10 min calm dancing then 15 min standing still and then 15 min sitting still all of these sections of the 1 hour meditation involve closing your eyes. I felt like I was in a mental institute. Then I read about the research and reasoning behind it all and it still sounded crazy. Oh well its all part of the adventure.

Here is an OSHO quote that I read while I was there:

Unless you are capable of being alone, your search for truth will remain a failure...

I then came back to Thamel and travelled 5 hours on interesting roads to Bandy"s sisters cow farm where I was treated like a princess. On various days we went trecking, to their family temple, to the local government schoool, to a local festival... It was so lovely living with a family and really getting a good taste of the culture and cast system here in Nepal. Understanding the wives "duties" to her family and husband. Oh I am so glad that I am an Australian woman!!!!!

I travelled back to Thamel and taught a whole day in a private nepalese preschool today. I had the 5 year olds. They are learning things that we teach in year 2. I taught 2 times tables today and the students are writing so much. I'm not so sure they understand what they are doing as the teachers here use rote learning methods where the students copy everything. I"m teaching on Sunday too!!! I will do my own Australian lessons then with Elmer the elephant! Very excited!!! The students also have no creativity and don"t know how to play! Very sad! Formal testing from 2 years old!!! Oh my Gosh! I will soon sort out the play and creativity situation on Sunday! Did I mention the students go to school 6 days a week!!! Saturday only is a holiday!

I will be going trecking on Monday I think. Everything is hard to organise here as everyone works at there own pace and I can only laugh!!!

I road my first motor bike yesterday! An interesting experence as they have no road rules. (SHHH dont tell mum or dad).

Ok I have to go as I have stollen a young girls computer to write this.

Love you all

Hopefully be intouch soon!

P.S. Bess there is know apostrophe on this computer so I used " instead. hehehehe

Love Love Love 😊

Advertisement



5th February 2012

What a great experience teaching in another country. Good old Elmer the elephant can bridge cultures quite nicely. Love reading your blog so far. Lovely to see you standing tall and pushing your way to the front of the line to change your money. You can certainly cope with all that's thrown your way on your journey. Well done proud of you. Marg Donkin
5th February 2012

Thank you
Thanks Marg. My lesson went really well today. The students loved the book!!! I"m so glad you are reading my blog.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb