Trekking tomorrow!!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Jammu & Kashmir » Tsomoriri
February 8th 2012
Published: February 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Namaste Everyone,

I'm in Pokhara now! About to start my 10 day trekking tomorrow through Annapurna mountain range.

I'm very excited!!! It's very cold here. I hope I have enough warm clothes for my journey throught the mountains.

So I have this personal guide that Bandy organised for me. He has come with me from Kathmandu and will be my porter and guide throught the mountains for the next 10 days. It's not peek season so there are not many people going trekking. (Is this such a wise idea I ask myself) Darrma is the name of my guide. He comes everywhere with me and gets me really good local prices. I feel famous because it's like having a bodyguard. He is Bandy's brothers good friend and he has been in the trekking buisness for about 30 years and has so much knowledge to give me. Dad you would love talking with him. I am getting a bit better at understanding Darrma's Nepalese / German / English accent. He sounds like an elder from a tribe.

The lake here is so beautiful! I feel like I could stay here for months and only have 11 days to explore this beautiful place. I will definitley have to come back here again! Anyone keen to join me next time?

I had my first hot water bath today in 10 days! Every hotel that you book into tells you that they have hot water but then when you question the coldness of the water in your room they say "oh, we do have hot water but the electricity is out so we don't have it right now." You might find this funny but after 10 days of this it doesn't become funny anymore. Thye same thing happens with the internet situation.

I'm finding out so much about the Nepalese culture. I had my first traditional sweet. Using this leaf they put sweets and spices inside it and wrap it up. You have to chew it for about 1 hour. My mouth got so tired chewing it that I had to spit it out!

Oh and whenever you ask for any kind of meat in a meal it always comes with bones in it. It is so weird!

I watched a traditional show tonight when I had my dinner. It was really nice to see. I am in love with this special kind of drum. It has the most beautiful sound! Johnnie you would love it! You hit the double sided drum on the sides. I will find out the name of it for my next post.

Stay tuned for some photos but for now, no more posts for a while as I will be breathing the beautiful crisp mountain air. Yodelayiho (my attempt to spell)

Love to you all

😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb