The first and the last....


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Jammu & Kashmir » Ladakh
October 19th 2013
Published: October 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

First, the last:

Yes, sorry guys but this is the last video from our trip. Today I really realized that I couldn't rely on my hard disks, so I decided not to film anymore. I'll only take pictures and a couple of time-lapses. I am sad, as I was starting to enjoy the filming, but then I am here to trek and enjoy myself, I won't let any technical problem affect the freedom, peace and fun we have here!

Then today was our FIRST real pass of our trek: Sirsir La, 4805 m. "La" means pass in Ladakhi.

We started in Hanupata 3900m to end in Photoksar at 4210m over this high pass, all this in just 7 hours!

It was hard but for me it was not too hard, just short breathed. Like you'll see we're hanging our first prayer flags at the pass. Like with prayer wheels, the prayers on the flags are spread around the world when the wind blows on them. At every pass in Ladakh, you'll find them. It's always a good omen to give an offering when crossing the La.

We still had some rain today and tonight it is raining a lot, luckily the tent didn't leak, but only just about. It's not a 4 season tent as we didn't expect to have so much rain. We're hoping for better weather as everything is starting to be humid and we're surrounded by mud.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.314s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 81; dbt: 0.1776s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb