I-N-D-I-A!/I-N-D-I-E-N!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Jammu & Kashmir » Ladakh » Leh
September 1st 2012
Published: September 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post


Do you know how many times I tried to start this blog, then deleted it? Too many. I can't explain it. Serious. If a picture is worth a thousand words, then my pictures will help me out in this blog. Egypt was nice and travelling with Anna was so perfect, but saying goodbye was one of the hardest things I've done. In this blog, I just did point forms as something has come to my mind, it's the only way I could do it. Some are just questions that go through my mind. India? Take a look at the photos and have a read. Here we go...


• India - A beautiful mess
• Fu€�< India. I hate it. I've had enough
• I love India. I can't get enough of it
• I was a passenger of a taxi and I had to change a flat tyre? Huh?
• What and why is he doing that?
• I seen a pile of goat's heads in a "butcher" and then looked to the gutter, it was a pool of dark blood, some with clots of blood
• They will fight for what they want, they need to. That's life.
• Or they'll just give up and hold out a hand and hope. Hope is all they'll have.
• I seen a dead rat bigger than my shoe. That was just the body, not including the tail
• An Indian called me an Indian
• "Autorickskaw is the Indian helicopter" (Delhi Autorickshaw driver)
• A couple stood in front of nice flowers. I was about to walk past, but stopped so they could take a photo. He came to me with the camera. I asked "should I take a photo of yous?". He replies while wobbling his head "YES! YES! Thank you sir. Just stand next to my wife please!"."Huh? Sorry?". They both took turns getting a photo with me, then started to chat. As we chatted, people surrounded us listening in with folded arms staring at me pretending not to listen but it was so obvious.
• I took a TWO DAY bus ride... AND
• The bus rocked side to side on the skinniest, deadliest dirt path for both days that I thought for sure we were going to die. I never wanted to hear the words "Rock'n'Roll" at the time
• Along one of the highest passes in the world, and most dangerous the "Building Roads Organisation" or BRO left funny but wise signs like "Life is short, dont make it shorter", "BRO go easy on my curves", "Love thy neighbour but not while driving", or "Overtaker beware of Undertaker". Naturally, our bus driver overtook or sped on those skinny roads/paths and how I got from Srinagar > Leh alive - I don't know
• After ANYTHING I almost always hear "tips tips... tips tips...". Ok for some, tipping is common(like in Europe). For me, I'll tip if the food or service was good, or simply if they were helpful. But when they ask even before it's finished, or tried to put something in my face to sell e.g. tour, or tell salesmen to come & continue annoy me while I was trying to relax on a Shikara boat ride, just so they could receive a commission - nah, no way. F_�< off.
• One taxi driver took me to the airport early morning and asked for a tip. Being the 2nd day I had 120R's. I went to give him 20R's and he said "Nooo. Minimum is 100R's in India. C'mon man I see you have more". I said "Well it's all I have, and I'm hungry & I need the rest for food". He said "Give me 100 or nothing". I let out a breath of laughter while putting the 20R's back in my pocket. He was offended & drove off with no tip. I spent the extra 20R's at breakfast. Am I an asshol3?
• They bargain hard, and will be an asshol3 while trying to get their price. But afterwards there is acceptance. Pure acceptance. Two examples below where I still don't understand it.



1. Happy Rickshaw driver

I caught a Rickshaw across town, up a hill to a temple. There and back. They charge 100R's(or try) just across town. I bargainned a guy to 150R's there and back. I had to walk off on him twice, one time because he p!ssed me off at what he was saying to me. Ok, so he agreed on 150. I went to the temple and he waited 30min for me. I knew I only had 2 x 100 notes so I thought "just give him 200. He waited 30min for you", he could of tried to say he had no change anyway. What happened? Nothing. He smiled and gave me my change declining the tip and said "nice to meet Australia! Good day have you"... Huh? I dont get it. I didnt get ripped off because 5 people before him said "You crazy. 500" or simply "no" and drove off.

2. Friendly Guesthouse owner

I was bargainning for a room. After 5-10min of arguement, no agreement, he finally agreed. It wasn't a friendly arguement either. At night when I came back from dinner he invited me into his house/room and we watched Indian Idol(yes thats funny enough), while joking, laughing, and getting along. Huh?


• I had a small taste of the monsoon in India so far. I was in Delhi & all of a sudden, the sky grew black within 10min. It p!ssed down rain so hard(I was outside), that I was drenched looking for shelter. Any tree I ran under(yes dumb idea), I had at least 50 Indians under the same tree staring at me, some whispering and laughing.
• Some powerlines have been as low, or lower than my face. Or even just held up by string
• A road was blocked by water. Quickly understanding from the smell and floating objects that it was sewerage water. People were walking through it like nothing - in sandals, putting their hands in the water, whatever. I got no poo on my shoes.
• Anyone you meet(or just starts talking to you) will always ask your life story... And the whole time I think "Are they good or bad? Are they trying to sell something or want money?"
• I'm a Vegetarian(in India). Shocked? I'm not. Come here and check out the meat supply.
• 8pm and India is dead. Shut up shops and little to noone walking on the streets.
• The dogs at night. Wow? Yeh, listen to them bark, fight in packs of ??, or yelp in pain. The most I seen was 18(I counted) charging after a pack of 3.
• I seen people what I thought was skiing on water. What was it? A square piece of wood or a fence. Skiing at about 5km/hr from a Dinghy boat. So funny to see
• Horns - SHUT UP! Far out! Wait? Genius?
• Chai! Oh it's so tasty!
• India - A travellers dream & nightmare in one
• I received a 5% off discount in a store. I was supposed to get 4R's off/change... But what it was had nothing to do with money. He handed me 2 small chocolates with my change and said "here is your change and your 5% discount". I laughed so hard I held my stomach until they laughed as they seen that it was NOT normal for me. It's happened twice.



I'm in Leh which is way North, full of Tibetans. My phone, nor has anyone else have reception due to some political bullsh!t. I'll be off trekking somewhere, then heading south... Or maybe trek to Kathmandu?!? I don't know exactly but I'm in India...



Jase

DEUTSCH

Weisst du wie viele mal ich dieses Tagebuch geschrieben habe und dann es geloescht? Zu viel. Ich kann es nicht richtig erklaeren. Im ernst. Wenn ein Bild ein Tausand Worten sagen kann, dann das ist mein erstes Indien Tagebuch. Aegyptien war schoen und mit Anna reisen war perfekt. Sagen "Tschuss" war ein schwierig Teil meines Lebens. Ich habe nur Puenkte geschrieben. Ich kann es nicht erklaeren! Wahnsinn. Ein paar Puenkte sind nur Fragen dass immer in meinem Kopf sind. Indien? Schau die Fotos an und lesen! Also...


• Indien - Ein schoene Scheisse
• Scheiss Indien. Ich hass es. Es ist schon genug. Lass mich sehr weit von hier!
• Ich liebe Indien. Lass mich hier!
• Ich bin mit einem Taxi gefahren und ICH hatte die Reife wechseln? Haeh?
• Was und warum macht er das?
• Ich habe ein haufen Ziegenfell in einer "Metzgerei" gesehen und dan zur Strasse geschaut und nur Blut gesehen. Jetzt ich bin ein Vegetarier
• Die leute kaempf fuer was die will. Die muessen.
• Oder... Die leute abgeben. Eine Hand auf und hoffen. Die haben nur hoffe
• Ich habe ein tote Ratte gesehen. Es war grosser als meine Schuhe. Das war nur der Koerpe.
• Ein Inder nennt mich ein Inder
• "Autorickskaw ist der Inder Huebschrauber" (Delhi Autorickshaw fahrer)
• Ein Mann und ein Frau war vor Bluemen. Ich bin gestoppt weil ich nicht im Foto moechte. Er ist zu mir mit dem Kamera gekommen. Ich habe gefragt "Soll ich ein Foto von eure machen?". Er sagte "JA! JA! Danke. Bitte koennen Sie neben meiner Frau stehen!" "Haeh? Entschuldigung?". Die haben ein Foto mit mir gemacht(er und sie) und ander Inder war immer zu uns zuhoeren.
• Ich bin mit einem Bues fuer ZWEI TAGE gefahren... UND
• Der Bues ist von Seite bis Seite getippt/gehuepft. Die Dreckstrasse war sehr duenn und gefaehrlich. Fuer zwei Tage ich habe gedacht dass ich sterben werde. Wie ich sicher und amleben angekommen bin. Ich weiss nicht!
• Danach fast ALLES ich hoere "tips tips... tips tips...". In Europa es ist normal aber fuer mich... Nur wenn es gut dienst ist oder das Essen ist gut. Oder wenn die leute mir geholfen habe. Aber als die mir fragen vor es fertig ist, oder etwas in meiner Gesicht gesteckt zu verkaufen wie ein Tour, oder sagen zu leute zu mir kommen zu verkaufen probieren. Und mir weiter fragen danach "NEIN!" gesagt an einer Fluess - nah, keine Chance. Hau ab!
• Ein Taxifahrer hatte mir frueher Morgen zum Flughafen gefahren und dann fuer ein Tipp gefragt. Es war nur meinen zweiten Tag und ich hatte nur 120R's. Ich habe ihn 20R's zu geben probiert und er hatte gesagt "Neeiinnnnn. Mindest in Indien ist 100R's. Komm schon Sie haben mehr Geld". Ich sagte "Das ist alles was ich habe, und ich habe Hunger und brauche Essen". Er sagte "Gib mir 100 oder gar nichts". Ich habe gelacht und die 20R's zurueck in meiner Tasche gesteckt. Er war beleidig und ohne ein Tipp weggefahren. Fruchtbar! Ich habe die 20R's beim Fruehstuck benutzt. Bin ich ein Arschloch?
• Die leute Haendel schwer, und werde ein Arschloch sein wohl sein Preis probieren. Aber danach die es akzeptieren. Zwei beispiel sind unten. Ich verstehe es noch nicht.


1. Gluecklich Rickshawfahrer

Ich bin mit einem Rickshaw durch die Stadt, auf einem Berg nach ein Tempel, und dann zurueck gefahren. Normal ist 100R's(oder probieren) erst durch die Stadt. Ich habe ein Rickshawfahrer fuer 150R's gehaendelt. Ich bin zwei mal weggegangen. Einmal wegen was er zu mir gesagt hatte. Ok, er hat auch 150R's gesagt. Ich bin bei der Tempel fuer 30 Minuten gewesen und er hatte gewartet. Ich habe schon gewusst ich hatte nur 2 x 100 Banknoten und habe gedacht "erst ihn 200 geben. Er hatte fuer dich 30 Minuten gewartet". Er konnte auch sagen "oh kein kleines Geld". Was ist passiert? Nichts. Er hatte gelacht und mein Tipp nicht akzeptiert und 50R's zurueckgegeben. Er sagte "schoen zu treffen Australien! Haben Sie Guten Tag"(sagte gebrochen Sprache)... Hae? Ich verstehe es nicht. Es war schon einen guter Preis weil 5 Faehrer vor ihn gesagt hatte "Sie sind verrueckt. 500" oder einfach "nein" und weggefahren.

2. Freundlich Guesthaus besitzer

Ich war fuer ein Zimmer haendeln. Danach 5-10min schimpfen, kein "agreement", er hatte endlich mein Preis "agreed". Es war nicht schoen! Beim Abend als ich von Abendessen zurueckgekommen bin, er hatte mir zu seinem Haus/Zimmer eingeladet. Wir haben Inder Idol(ja schon lustig) an den Fern geschaut. Wir haben Witze gesagt, gelacht, und viele mit einander gesagt. Haeh?


• Ich war ein bisschen bis jetzt in der Regenzeit. Ich war in Delhi und auf einmal ist die Himmel in 10 Minuten SCHWARZ. Es ist so brutal geregnet dass ich wie im Schwimmbad geschwommen schaute. Jedes Baum ich bin unten gelaufen (ja schon dumm Idee), es gibt immer 50 Inder unter das gleiche Baum und jeder hatte nach mir gestarrt.
• Stromleitungen sind sehr nieder wie meine Gesicht!
• Jeder Inder fragt dein Lebengeschichte. Ich denke immer "Was wollt ihn?"
• Um 20Uhr und Indien ist tot. Fast keine spaziert
• Die Huende am Abends sind wahnsinn. Kaempfen, Jaulen. Ich habe 18 Huende gesehen nach 3 Huende!
• Hupen! Halt die Klappe! Warten? Genie?!?
• Chai! Lecker!
• Indien - Ein Reiser Traum und Alptraum in einem Paket!
• Ich habe etwas fuer 16R's gekauft und 20R's bezahlt. Mein Tausch war 2 Schokolade



Ich bin in Leh und ist sehr Nord. Es gibt viele Tibeter. Mein Handy geht nicht wegen Polikital Scheiss mit Empfang. Ich wander irgendwohin und schliesslich fahre Sued. Vielleicht nach Kathmandu?!? Keine Ahnung aber ich bin in Indien...
Jase


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 31


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb