My India is...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
May 20th 2012
Published: May 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Namaste,

I've spent the last few weeks in a much quieter environment than the 3 previous months and have a lot of time to reflect on the events of this trip....it left me with lots to share!

But I think rather than bore you with details of where I've been these past few weeks, I'll summarize for you what India means to me...the positive and negative experiences and emotions I've had in this crazy place. For the most part (as I'm sure you can ascertain from my previous blogs) I am in love with this country. but that doesn't mean my trip hasn't also come with frustration, anger and even sadness. I don't want to leave anything out.



So...my India is...

-chai shops; they are on every corner, there are more of them than there are Starbucks in seattle!

-bells; they are rung at every Hindu temple, to wake the Gods

-beggars; mostly women, children and the disabled with sad faces covered in dirt (although I've seen the beggar kids looking dirty during the day and cleaned up going to temple at night!)

-barking dogs

-squat toilets

-motorbikes

-"can I take your pic?" just having white skin in India makes you a celebrity

-Helpful people; Random Indian man: "can I help you?" Me: "ya, I'm looking for the bus stand." Indian "Oh I don't know where it it, I'm a tourist too!"

-change...no shop owner ever has it. Its a game...who will give in and part with their change first. those 5 ruppee notes (worth 10 cents are hard to come by)

-"my friend" everyone is a friend. "I have a very good friend in Canada" translation "a canadian came into my shop once"

-full power 24 hour; except during the daily power cuts!

-everything is possible in India...except when it's not. It can seem impossible to find exactly what it is you want and you may run around the city searching endlessly for it and when you're just about to give up, someone just drops it into your lap, no questions asked.

-cow shit; it's unavoidable

-hissing monkeys, dogs that become your best friend when you have cookies in your hand, donkeys as delivery trucks, bulls as tractors

-bargaining; even if its for 10 ruppees, but its the prinicpal that wont allow you to hand it over without a fight...bargaining is expected, if you don't do it you are that tourist they'll laugh about later!

-rickshaws, 3-wheelers, tuk-tuks...same same

-paranoid Indian men wanting to take care of me, thinking this country is unsafe for women alone (it's soooo not!!)



My India is...

-never really knowing what time the train will arrive or how long it will stop at any given station

-karma

-from traffic jams in Delhi to silent meditation retreats in the himalayas

-conversations with complete strangers (other travelers) that inevitably turn to the consistency and frequency of your bowel movements

-namaste; it's best when it's given from a 4 month old

-hot showers; always possible but never actually available when I'm standing under the running water

-Indian price; which as a tourist I will never see

-the staredown; Indian men have no problem staring on the train, even when you meet their gaze, for the entire 12 hour journey

-customer service; doesn't exist

-Indian time

-tipping; tourists all over the country seem to disagree on whether or not it's appropriate here

-shaved heads...why do so many foreign women in India have no hair???

-wanna be hippie travelers

-grown Indian men giggling and acting like schoolboys

-yoga

-delicious food; it changes throughout the country but I've associated each city with my favourite meal in it, whether it's Indian, Tibetan or some variation on a western food

-chilli; even when i say "milchi ne" (no chilli in Hindi) it still manages to sneak it's way into my food

-struggling through a conversation in Hebrew when the Indian guest house owner speaks mor fluently than I do, so he'll think i'm Israeli and give me a good prcie!

-tourist Sadhus; giving tourists fake blessing for money

-getting actual blessings from spiritual leaders...and elephants!

-the sun



Every tourist obviously experiences India a little differently (some even leave hating it...I dont usually get along well with these people!!) But there are certain quirky events that seem universal to all foreigners here. No matter their country, language, age...all travelers seem to be able to relate to each other. I've met people who have had the exact same experience, same meal at the same restaurant, same encounter with that sleezy guy as I have, maybe just in a different month! It creates this instant connection among travelers that just doesn't occur in any other circumstance. Come to India, to understand fully every one of these descriptions of My India!! and if India's not for you, then I hope you can get a sense of what it is for me! The good in this country seems to always outweigh the bad. And the bad just makes me really appreciate that incedible moment that restores my love affair with India.



sorry for the lack of pictures...the lack of antivirus at internet cafes makes me hesitant to plug y camera into their computers. For the next blog I'll make sure to borrow a fellow traveler's computer so that you can fully appreciate the beauty of where I am now, in the himalayas. But you are warned before you open the next blog...it will make you want to jump on a plane and move here!

Om

Shanti

Advertisement



21st May 2012

As usual, your blog put a smile on my face! You just seem so happy! While I'm sure you're not thrilled about returning home, I can tell you that you are missed and everyone will be so happy to see you again! I look forward to a day up north snuggling with you on the couch as you explain all of your photos in your newest album to me. Travel safely for the remainder of your trip and of course, home! ( your other home!)
21st May 2012

Same as my India!
Everything you described is what we experienced: in a short 2 1/2 weeks... We can still feel and taste the pulse and rhythm of India. Your blogs are so amazing. Keep enjoying AND blogging! Much love, J
21st May 2012

My India Special
Hi Sweetness, As usual you have blown me away with your recent blog! It should be submitted to a travel magazine or newspaper. You have vividly describes the country in such a realistic way, for those of us who have not visited India! AS I read iit ,I picture you there and know that you are looking after yourself and growing and have not lost your sense of humour throughout! You are delicious and I love you! Uncle Sam reads these with me and sends his love as well. HUgs and kisses, Auntie K
22nd May 2012

WOW!
Trish, I want to jump on a plane and tag along with you in Your India!! Love your writing so much! Continue your wonderful adventure with happiness!!!! Love Franny xoxox
24th May 2012

Love you!
That was beautiful to read . . . It certainly is a love affair with India. Your love for and connection to the country is very apparent in all that you say and write. Makes me want to join you once to explore your India and fall in love with that country in the way you have. Looking forward to reading more and hearing more when you get back here. Love ya!

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb