In Transit, 10-12 November 2009


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
November 12th 2009
Published: November 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Not much to report here: an overnight plane to Delhi, with me coughing all the way, followed by a few hours in dusty Delhi before boarding an overnight bus to Mcleod Ganj, again with me coughing all the way. Not much sleep to be had.

A spot of bother dealt with rather unsuccessfully on the journey when the problem of a distinct shortage of toilet stops arose. It was a bumpy 12 hour bus trip with just one stop the whole time, in the first three hours of departure. Nine hours without a toilet break is no doubt doable if you are asleep, but as I was awake the whole night coughing (and needing water to help control the cough), there was bound to be a disaster looming... loom it did, and disaster it was! The lesson learned: weeing into a bottle (assisted by a she-pee or no) in a small space on a bumpily moving bus full of people requires practice. Sigh. I wasn’t game to make a second attempt when nature called again a couple of hours later, so rather incredibly (I thought!) hung on for the final four hours - it gave Hero and her mum, Deb (who’s been getting all Buddhist in Mcleod Ganj since mid September), a chance to say hello and catch up on arrival anyway, while I acquainted myself rather quickly with the nearest toilet to appease my bursting bladder :-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb