We Made It A Month! Sort of...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
May 25th 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

And so, once again, conversation has turned to going home. I am desperate to leave, to sleep in my own bed, to not worry every time I drink a glass of water that it might be festering with disease, that every time I eat a plate of *anything* that it might have vegetables that have been washed in diseased water hidden in it (we're not even considering touching meat or milk), that the next time we get on a bus or a train we might get off so ill that we'll be once again confined to a hotel room for 3 days with soaring temperatures. Last night we were disturbed while getting ready for bed by a monk (or someone disguised as a monk) who bustled into our room, coughed a couple of times, told us he had TB (at which point Jason bustled him back out of our room) and asked for money for a train ticket. The next couple of hours were spent alternately worrying and thanking God that we'd had our TB vaccinations. Cabin fever has truly set in, and unfortunately, although I would love to dilute Jason's near-hatred of the place, we have found ourselves at rather a loose end. A walk around the Dalai Lama's residence, a yoga lesson with Tibetan monks, and a shortened hike to a disappointing lake seem to have exhausted our possibilities in McLeod Ganj. There's also been a monsoonal downpour every day, forcing us to run for cover for several hours each day (each day, that is, that we haven't been lying flat on our backs feeling like we're about to die).
We've made it a whole month (which considering I wanted to leave 5 days in, feels like a huge accomplishment) but now I'm sick of being sick, and tired of being tired. Every little thing seems to require a huge amount of effort, and I feel continually exhausted (as, I think, does Jason). I'd put it down to anaemia caused by our new vegetarian (practically vegan) diets, but as I don't generally eat red meat in everyday life, I doubt it's a realistic diagnosis.
The trip's also been trying on us emotionally, and amidst arguments, threats to leave (sometimes in separate directions, sometimes generally leaving India), and Jason's assertions that I am the most infuriating person on the planet, we're both beginning to think it might be better to cut our losses and leave early, while we're still speaking, rather than any of the other options.

Advertisement



25th May 2008

You're not infuriating, you are just both stressed to the max!! Of course i would LOVE for you to be home with me!! I am SO SO impressed that you made it this far! Reading about your first 2 weeks in India, I was ready to meet you at the airport! It sucks that every time you try to relax, something more stressful happens. Well, I work at a cupcake shop now, so anytime you come home I'll be at your side stuffing yummy cupcakes down your throat and making you wash it down with milk, or non-diseased water. When I was in Italy we all wanted to leave after 3 weeks, the last 2 weeks were draining, I hardly remember them at all, only the first 3 weeks. But India is MUCH different, I would throw in the towel, but I can tell you two are troopers!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb