A cool place and no tourists!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Kangra Valley
September 19th 2006
Published: September 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After visting Dharamsala, the next day we drove to Kangra Valley so that Neelam could visit her family. While she was visiting, Dharamvir and I visited this really cool fort. It was fairly well preserved, but for some reason it hasn't been made into a prime tourist destination. Which was great for me, because we could wander around and take pictures without being annoyed by pesky foreigners. Inside the fort was a Hindu temple that has some famous, "original" statue of one of the Gods. I didn't quite understand the story, but it's supposed to have some great spiritual significance. I especially liked the stoic priest-type guy who followed us up into the alter area where the state was and gave us blessed food and water. I really appreciated getting a chance to visit this area, because if I didn't have my fabulous tour guides and hosts, there is no way I uld have been able to check it out!




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Hindu Temple DudeHindu Temple Dude
Hindu Temple Dude

This is the guy that gave us apples and water that I think were blessed. The statue in the middle is the especially holy one with some special story about it.
Hindu Temple HallHindu Temple Hall
Hindu Temple Hall

There's another temple guy taking a nap


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb