the night we got stranded in Mcleod Ganj!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Kangra Valley
June 27th 2015
Published: June 27th 2015
Edit Blog Post

071071071

meeting my cleaning lady's family - a very humbling experience.
Now two weeks into my time in Palampur and I feel very settled. I have got into a nice daily routine at the school, I’m very used to catching the bus on my own and having to walk through the busy town alone too. Bryan has now left the house, so I will be on my own for the next two weeks, until the next group of volunteers arrive, although they won’t actually be staying in the same house as me, but it will be nice to have some more people around at the school anyway.

The school is now on monsoon break, but it is still open for holiday clubs every weekday. I have been having fun teaching the children more songs, telling them stories and playing games outside with them, they’ve even taught me cricket, although I don’t think I’m very good at it at the moment! Next week I’ll be doing more arts and crafts with the children, and today I have bought all the materials needed to make maracas with them. Today I also bought myself a guitar, so I can teach myself to play. I better not end up being better than my boyfriend though,
072072072

view of the sunset and the rice fields in the village I live in.
or he’ll hate that!!

Last weekend was very busy, as it was Bryan’s last weekend in Palampur. On Friday we went to Mcleod Ganj again, and ended up staying the night there. That was one of the most craziest nights I’ve experienced. While we were out drinking and having dinner a massive thunderstorm began, and then there was a power cut across the whole town, we ran to the hotel that we had booked for the night, only to be told that they didn’t have any confirmation of our booking. But it was too late and rainy to get a taxi home, so we ended up running around town, soaking wet in the dark desperately searching for another hotel that had a room. We ended up asking monks for directions and although they didn’t speak any English they were really trying to help us. Eventually we found a hotel, and got ourselves sorted. The next day we spent the day wondering around Mcleod Ganj, and as we were buying and haggling for jewellery at the market, suddenly people started lining the streets; everybody went quiet and was looking up and down the road for something. I mouthed to Bryan
089089089

amazing meal in our favourite restaurant in Mcleod Ganj - Shahi Paneer, Buttered naan and chilli & garlic chicken chowmein.
saying “do you think it could be the Dalai Lama coming?” And then low and behold, a convoy of police vehicles and very official looking cars came up the hill, followed by a four-by-four with the Dalai Lama himself smiling and waving to everybody. But apart from Bryan and I nobody else was looking at the cars, they just all stooped really low, and bowed to him. It was a very moving experience.

The following day, we took a long six hour drive to Manali, a beautiful town set in the mountains, with breath-taking views. The town was very busy though and we were constantly being stopped by beggars or by Indian people asking for pictures with me. I liked Manali a lot because of its beauty, and of course because of Johnson’s bar, but it surprised me that I got 100x more stares than I get in rural Palampur, despite Manali being a very popular tourist destination due to its paragliding and white water rafting attractions. I think I would like to visit Manali again, and perhaps stay in Johnson’s hotel next time, but I do prefer Mcleod Ganj – it’s very special there!

Every day in
094094094

the main market street in Manali.
India I keep being challenged by things, and I keep learning more – about the country and also about myself. One thing I think I have been learning though is how to be a strong person and to be able to stand on my own, it is very important to be able to do this when on your own as a foreigner. But I do feel very at home here, very peaceful, content and relaxed. I think my pace of life has slowed down considerably as well.



I miss having Bryan around in the house; he has become a very good friend to me. But I am also looking forward to having the next couple of weeks to myself, to think and reflect and to annoy the neighbours with my guitar playing!!





K x


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

11647386_10206826325959330_1066300172_n11647386_10206826325959330_1066300172_n
11647386_10206826325959330_1066300172_n

going out for the night with Bryan in Manali.


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb