Today I became a teacher


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Dharamsala
August 13th 2008
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 32.2207, 76.3188

I'm teaching English in the monastery in the afternoons to a small class of enthusiastic, and very giggly Tibetan monks. I think I've fallen in love with all of them already. I'm learning so much more than I am teaching them. I ask them so many questions about Buddhist philosophy (which they've all been studying exclusively since childhood) and it's maybe the most beneficial learning I've ever been exposed to. Really, what is more valuable than your own personal well-being? And as the Mahayana Buddhists would say, I've learned, finding inner peace and then sharing it with others. That is the core of the philosophy. More than the idea, is the practice. It feels indescribably good to live in a village where everyone practices compassion, treats you as though you are a trusted, loved friend. I wish I could share this feeling with everyone. It's so amazing to be so loved and cherished by so many people all at once, every day, all day. Just walking the streets puts the deepest smile on my face.

Suzerian - new vocabulary word http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=suzerain

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb