Revenge of the Cockroaches, Part II


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Haryana » Gurgaon
October 2nd 2007
Published: October 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

FP #1FP #1FP #1

The attack pigeon!
So, I survived the first revenge strike by the cockroaches: the attack wasps. Despite the bite, the staph infection, the abcess, the minor surgery, and the alternate day dressing changes, and the still somewhat open wound, I have prevailed!

Frustrated by their failure, the cockroaches made a second strike using my arch-nemesis: an attck pigeon! They know how much I fear and detest pigeons so this was the perfect weapon. I hate the strange sheen to their feathers, their freaky cooing sounds, and especially their beady eyes that stare at you with thinly veiled menace. You know that they just want to attack and peck out your jugular vein. Yuck!

When I left for Goa, I left the kitchen window open about an inch on each side. I closed the door as I always do. When I got home Tuesday evening, I was thirsty so I went into the kitchen to get some water. When I opened the door, I noticed a strange smell and then saw bird sh*t everywhere - on the counters, on the sink, on the refrigerator, on the floor, on my Carolina water bottle holder(!), and on the cabinets. In my shock, I didn't see the attack pigeon until I looked up. I'm not actually sure who was more scared - me or him! I quickly closed the door and tried to figure out what to do.

First, I opened the door a crack and took his picture. Then, I told the pigeon that if he stayed exactly where he was, I'd open the window so he could fly out. He didn't move or make a sound so I ran in and opened the window. I ran back out and closed the dor.

Five minutes later, I looked in and he was still at his post! I yelled at him to get out of my house and he finally flew around the kitchen for a few moments then took off out the window. He even pooped one last time in a final salute!

Once again I have prevailed (although I was forced to clean up a lot of nasty, stinky pigeon crap in the process), but I live in fear of what the cockroaches will come up with next...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb