Ahmedabad Arrival


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Gujarat » Ahmedabad » Adalaj
February 4th 2012
Published: February 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After 2+ hours to wander through the marvelous Dubai International Airport, we were DAZZLED!!! It got better, though, when we arrived in the 6-month old Ahmedabad glass structure. Very modern. Then, reality set in. We had to wait and wait and wait for our luggage...Apparently, three planes landed at nearly the same time, and we were convinced that the luggage handlers carried five bags from pane A, then five from plane B, and then five from place, and then started over again. It took FOREVER, and at 3 a.m., people were really getting annoyed.

During the 70 minute wait, a couple of young (20s) Indian men approached me to ask if I would buy two bottles of Johnning Walker Black label on their behalf. One had supposed bought his two quota in Dubai, but the other thought he could buy in the Ahmedabad Duty Free Shop...At least, that was their story.

See, Ahmedabad is a totally DRY city, and they could bring in liquor purchased elsewhere; apparently, we foreigners could buy even more alcohol right there in the airport (which surprised me. I don't think that I can buy in the JFK Duty free shop on my way into NYC). Anyway, like any good married woman, I said that I had to ask my husband (who was standing near the luggage carousel) and I returned to the young man to say, "Husband says no" which was a satisfactory denial. It may have been legit, but it may have been a ruse to get me into trouble.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb