In India for a month


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Patnem
February 7th 2011
Published: February 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Dawned on me last night, I have been in India now for over a month. Reflecting on my time here thus far; I have been through a mini panchakarma which has required time to recuperate and regenerate from, is still ongoing, as the ayurvedic healing, cleansing, balancing process affects all levels of a person, at least it has me. Spent a week on the Beach in Southern Kerala, Varkala. A beautiful vista of cliffs and beach, clear waters, light sand and black sand beaches, dolphins, fishing boats and excellent fish. Had my first King fish, butterfish, tiger prawns and KingFisher beer, which is a german style Indian beer, very refreshing in the heat and surf. Stayed in Kollam in the beginnings of the backwaters on a peninsula surrounded by water in a family heritage villa, toured Kollam via Rick-Shaw, one of the best tours I have ever experienced. After hearing about all the Elephant festivals, I saw one that night on my way home😊 I find the Hindu religion so enchanting, devotional, inspiring and beautiful, in songs, costume, generosity of spirit. Traveled up the backwaters adjacent to the Arabian Sea 3 hours to Amma's Ashram. Was convinced for about an hour by a devotee of Amma for 18 years, that I would stay at Amma's and tour with her through India, Europe, then possibly America...this would heal me at depth and solve any problems I have ever had. I said to myself...Amma's isn't here, I have never met Amma...Decided to take my chances on achieving happiness without Amma for now😊 My friend and I headed up to Allephey and took a luxury houseboat tour the next night...we docked in a village that night, walked to the temple to offer prayers of gratitude. On the way a little boy pooped out in front of me and gave me an orange flower. Took buses and the train to Margoa then Patnem beach where I currently reside. Had the ultimate test of my traveling fortitude and staying power...scooter crash. My faith in healing, humanity, God, life itself...I questioned it all, and decided to stay, stay in India, stay traveling, stay in my body. It amazes me, that it amazes me...the kindness and generosity of others, have a village of helpers, healers, friends, animals, ocean waves, devotional music, prayers. Life is good😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

021021
021

Crashed up this road, took pic before it happened.
004004
004

Junkerry
008008
008

Enjoying Goan wine
001001
001

Cow or Buffalo?


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb