My First Taste of Goa


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Palolem
March 12th 2005
Published: April 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Goa is lined with beaches from north to south, with each beach offering something different. I don't really know why I chose Palolem of all the places, but I'm sure as hell glad that I did…

The beaches are beautiful, the weather is bliss and best of all, the people here, both locals and foreigners, are great. I have met heaps of people and been a great time enjoying everything Palolem has to offer. Last night being one of the best nights I've had since traveling.

After my daily ritual of a swim in the ocean and a game of beach cricket, I sat down at the restaurant next to my bungalow. Sitting on some pillows, watching the sunset, drinking beers and chatting, soaking up the atmosphere, a guy from Liverpool went and got his guitar. The guy from Liverpool was a brilliant musician and we sat down listening to him strum. After his rendition of "Angie" by the Stones the party buzzed as we sat, drank, ate, sung and laughed. The restaurant filled up as the night went on and a few other people came to join us. I met a girl from Melbourne and turns out she plays in a couple of bands and has played at the Espy and around Fitzroy, Richmond etc. She came with two Irish girls (sisters).

She said to me, ‘hey Brad; I'll give you a song from Oz’. After fetching her guitar she was joined by one of the Irish girls, and they played, "throw your arms around me," - arguably better than the Hunters original! It was seriously a beautiful moment; a taste of home, in a faraway paradise. When they finished there was a moment of silence followed by a rapturous applause. We continued to drink and sing and laugh well into the night… thirteen beers later we kicked on to the Laughing Buddha bar…
Sometimes whilst traveling you go through rough patches and tough times, especially being alone, but when you find yourself in a moment like I was last night, nothing on this planet comes close that feeling. Pure bliss… (alcohol assisted!)

All right folks, I can hear the ocean calling my name. Wish me luck against the local cricket team; they don't like losing, which makes winning all the more sweet!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



17th April 2005

I love reading about your travel tales. The photos make it so real too. They are beautiful. I miss you and love ya heaps!! Take care out there! Jessy x - sis - Jessy

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb