On the road again..


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Anjuna Beach
November 4th 2011
Published: November 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My time in Goa is coming to an end. Today we took a day trip to Vagator beach a few miles north of Anjuna. Although there are a few attempts at setting up resorts there, it is still unspoiled. The beach is at the bottom of a steep cliff and there are no roads that lead down there. There are however a few beach shack cafes down there. We parked our buts in one of them and watched the women who are porters carry down two cases each on their heads and another one under the arm. The women who do this seem to be from a specific community, they dress differently and don't interact with the other workers on the beach. The women who sell stuff on the beach are all from Karnataka. They all speak excellent English but are illiterate. It's hard to watch them work so hard. It's hot, the stuff they drag around is heavy and people are rude. Most of their methods include getting to know you and then plucking your heartstrings to get you to buy from them. I would have loved to be able to buy more stuff, but as it is, many of my purchases were made under feelings of sympathy rather than feelings of want.
That's the thing about India, there are so many people that have so very little. The other thing about India is the trash. It's everywhere. In a way that's good, because you are constantly confronted with the amount of trash we generate. I hate having to contribute so much to the problem by having to drink water from bottles.
So I'll be leaving Anjuna tomorrow on a plane in the afternoon, which will get me to Udaipur at 8pm. I really hate the idea of leaving Stef & Anton, they are the sweetest couple and watching their love for each other is really heart warming.
Unfortunately I'm not able to coordinate things with my pictures, now that my notebook is busted. I'll have to insert some public pics. I'll be uploading my pictures to the Kodak gallery I've been using so far.
Talk to you from Udaipur then....


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



23rd November 2011

Thanks for the info
My family and I are planning a trip tp Goa and this info is really helping us. Cheers

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb