Lazy Days Away


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Anjuna Beach
March 6th 2009
Published: March 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Have finally reached a computer, or at least made the effort to walk to a computer place! I've been in Goa since last friday, but here is the low down on what I've been up to since Baroda.
Adi's mum arranged for me to be looked after in Mumbai, the housekeeper/office worker called Zup Singh collected me from the train station and took me back to the flat for amazing food. Then I went to the office and met Mr Johnson my Mumbai guide. He took us to a museum where they almost confiscated my sun cream as a suspect liquid or something. We then saw the Taj Hotel and Cafe Leopolds and the gateway to india. it was nice to get some kind of understanding of the layout of the main touristy areas, for I will be back again before my flight to NZ.
In the evening I headed out on my own for dinner and managed to not be ripped of by taxis, perhaps I gave the imperssion I knew what I was doing :-) Went to cafe leopolds which is reputed to be the place to strike up convo's with other tourists, spoke to no one, and then
Taj Hotel MumbaiTaj Hotel MumbaiTaj Hotel Mumbai

The Obligatory picture
headed home. but it was a nice evening all the same!
The next day we went to the airport, all was going swimmingly, and then just as the plane pulls out of its 'bay' to head to the runway, we find out there is some problem with the aircon system. so we pul back in to the bay, and wait. and sweat. and wait some more. and are told only 30 mins, only another 30 mins. by which point the russian next to me has started to snore loudly and i'm getting a bit uncomfartable. but then, we get off the plane. mill about in the arrivals lounge, before heading back through security, this time my water bottle did get spotted in the x-ray machine (whoops!) and then we leave!
We land at Goa 3 hours late but luckily the delay had caused me to start chatting to Nadia, who is going in my general direction, but a bit further, and she tells me that because she has a job she will pay most of the taxi fare! woop. Haven't seen her again since I've been here, but perhaps someday soon!
I arrive at the "Jolly Jolly Lester" at about
Vagator BeachVagator BeachVagator Beach

Arriving at Sunset
4.30 and meet the nice lady who works there. she tels me i shud dump my stuff and go to the beach for the sunset, so i do which is cool, I sit in a bar, eager to talk to people, but seeing only aged hippies and Russian Trance heads I decide I will go elsewhere in search of dinner. Jolly Jolly lady tells me to visit the friday night market at Hill Top, which i do and eventually find some guys to talk to. We swap numbers and then sweet sweeet sleep. or that was the intention. Goa is bloody hot, and no air con for me :-(.
The next day the guys bring me to Anjuna which is where they're staying and I've been here ever since. I booked in at hotel sunset for a couple of nights, 250 Rs per night (3poundsish) with a shared toilet and shower. MISTAKE. Next day I had sickness and Diarrhoea, probs not from the shared bathroom, most likely from dehydration, but not having your own bathroom when you're feeling like that is not good. But its over now, and i'm stayin at Hotel Florinda behind Janet and Johns beach restaurant, and its only 400Rs 6 quidish. So not toooo bad. I think Im still on budget.
My days have been spent trying to avoid getting sun burnt, whilst still trying to get some colour so the locals (and the aussies when i reach there) can stop going, oh you're so white, like milk. Yes, i reply, I am white, and i don't want to buy anything you're selling, thanks! Ok i'm not that rude, and i have bought ALOT of stuff, i'm pretty certain i've done alot for the local economy, and I still cant seem to get a tan!
We've visited (and loved) Arambol, which has a beautiful freshwater lake 50m from the sea with a beach in between. That place was beautiful and i may go and spend a couple of days next week in a beach hut there. And today went to the tropical spice plantation at Ponda. The tour was interesting, and the food was good. Shame the tour guide kept making baaad jokes. quite a few of them i just did not understand! Only a week left in India, then NEW ZEALAND! I'm really loving chilling out and drinking cocktails and eating sea food, but i'm REALLY looking forward to some good ol' Beef!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Push PineapplePush Pineapple
Push Pineapple

Spice Plantation


6th March 2009

ahhhhh!
Ah Mr Chuff your blog is keeping me going through my dissertation, but I may have to stop reading as I'M SO JEALOUS THAT YOU'RE GOING TO NEW ZEALAND. Whilst you may still be white I am turning a terrible shade of envious green! Have a looverly time. Can't wait to hear all about it Xx

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb