Dirty socks but life is good


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Assam » Digboi
December 12th 2009
Published: December 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm back!
In case some of you haven't noticed, this writing has become like a therapy for me, so if you're not that interested in being part of my therapy, I'll understand if you want to un-subscribe, or just ignore those messages that arrive in your inbox, informing you I want some attention. I wonder sometimes if this is a blog about a trip, or the blog is the trip. Or am I the trip. Certainly can be trippy. Sometimes feel as though I am tripping!~
On the other hand, some of you may not get email at all if it wasn't for me, so hope you enjoy it, and stick with me.
Digboi is an oil town, the oldest oilfield in the world at 108 years. Indian Oil decided to create a nature reserve out of it, apparently, but I couldn't find anyone here who even knew that! Seems Swami Anand Prasad may have been last birder here about 10 years ago. After a lot of run around, permission here, go there, see police, I find a security chief who let
s me in and gives me his jeep and driver for the afternoon!
So things are going well, although some of you may question my scale of what's good and what's bad, when a good day includes taking off my shoes after a day in the jungle avoiding elephants- and I did smell them, but no sightings- and finding my socks are soaked in blood! Leeches!! I don';t mind them if I don't see them, but if they are stuck to me I do tend to panic a bit and do a little slapping dance. Usually it's just the socks drenched-really-in blood.
Decide I'm filthy, order hot water and find fat red ticks on my legs. Careful removal with nail clippers- rotate anti-clockwise to ensure head doesn't stay inside-, and apply tea tree oil. All good fun.
For first time ever in India bought tiny bottle of rum, and in a town painted red courtesy of Coca-Cola signboards over every establishment, I can only find a Sprite to go with it. A warm sprite. It did the job over 2 nights, watched old movies on HBO and wonder where I am. Again.
Seeing some good birds, enjoy photos.
Love


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



13th December 2009

I'm still with you
I'm still with you - but have just hit a busy patch and haven't been keeping up to date. This is just a quickie as I am about to head out for the day. In the earlier days of your blog I began to think that the blogging was actually going to become a big part of the trip - it's certainly seems to be a fundamental element. I am still loving it - my last best bit was the flip flop borrowing on the train scene which made me howl out loud. I need to laugh more. Thank you and love you xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
14th December 2009

blogs
dude.enjoying these blogs immensely.think its time you got a life.love adarsha

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb