Vocabulary


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andhra Pradesh » Hyderabad
March 17th 2007
Published: March 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Christina here:

Sheryl & I keep listing words phonetically in her notebook, trying to capture words before they escape us completely. How else will we remember that "Ah-mah" means "mom," or that "Goo-lah-bee" means "rose"? (the flower)

In writing these words, we are desperately trying to hold onto the beautiful people we worked with at the orphanage. The children quizzed us every moment: "Nay-peru," "What is your name?" "Nah-peru," "My name is." And then the endless choruses of "My name?" where we had to try to figure out which name went with which child. Some of them seemed heartbroken when we couldn't remember, even though there were a few hundred. Others took it in stride and simply continued drilling us: "Roja. Mary. Hepsibah. Sunita. Ramana-- (Rhymes with "Nah-men-ah." Meagan knows the correct spelling. And yes, I sang that song to her every time I heard her name, but now the song is "Ramana.")--Krishna. Babu. Mahesh Karin Kumar. Subhash. Ramesh... Their faces pass before me so often, their smiles...

"Bah-lee" means "lizard," as in the friendly little guys who roamed the walls in search of mosquitos. Go, Bah-lee! "Taco-wah-doo" means "don't touch me." "Moo-koo" means "nose." "Munchee-wah-sah-nah" means "smells good!" "Mah-hee-mah" means "glory." "Stothrum" means "praise." "Yay-soo" means "Jesus." "Bau-gun-dee" is "beautiful." "Super" is "super."

Tonight a shopkeeper laughed at me when I used some Telegu. "This is Hyderabad!" he corrected me. "Use Hindi."
Can you imagine if every state in the U.S. spoke a different language? Actually, we're still in the same state, just a different region. And every region, as well as every state, has really different foods and customs, while each has a lot of state pride. It's not like American states. Over here, your state is your country, and you really identify with it, take pride in it. Pretty cool. Sheryl & I now realize why everyone asks where we're from. They're not satisfied with "America." They want to know which state.

I want to visit India again. There are so many things yet to see, people yet to meet. But I think maybe my state is Andhra Pradesh. I can't shake those Ongole friends from my heart, and as heavy as that sometimes makes it, I really don't want to.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



18th March 2007

Wonderful, Wonderful Smiles
Hello again...Just wanted to say I'm enjoying all the pictures you have added from Ongole...I have many pictures from Pastor Daniel K. of the children from Grace Childrens Home in Ongole and I'm always amazed and love the beautiful smiles on the childrens faces. I do notice that many pictures that he has sent and some of yours that the adults seldom smile. I'm guessing its from the struggles of working so hard for food and few necessities. I continue to pray for the people of India and God's word will be heard by all and many seeds planted that God will grow. I hope to have the blessing of visiting that enchanted country one day especially Ongole. God bless you both and continued safety in your travels...Kandy
19th March 2007

Thank you
Vicky here, Hi Christina Welcome to the Club, Yes you are Ongolian I am very much glad to hear that.

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb