Paradise!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andaman & Nicobar Islands
October 30th 2006
Published: October 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Great Beach to Ourselves!Great Beach to Ourselves!Great Beach to Ourselves!

Excuse the poor quality of the picture, my camera didn't deal with the humidity too well (kept fogging up the lense and so the colors are faded...instead of bright turqouise you see grey!)
Sorry it's been so long since the last blog. The andaman islands are pretty void of internet localities outside of the main city of Port Blair. This has been the most relaxing couple days I've had in a long long time. I've never seen water this clear and warm and blue! Just walking along the beach you see tons of hermit crabs, minows in the shallows, fiddle crabs, tons of birds, and most importantly......no people! It's great.

Jess and I went scuba diving yesterday.........my first ocean dive........and it was spectacular. We saw nearly every fish and coral species on the fish chart (clown fish, angel fish, grouper, napoleons, lionfish, sea urchins, parrot fish, and soo soo much more!). There were clams almost as big as me!!!!! Our guide was awesome to boot. He'd point out all the lobster and small camo'd fish as well as play with the clown fish. He even wooshed some water by the big clam and got it to close up! I have decided that I need to do this more often.

This place is so much better than main land india. It's got everything you need..........nice people, great beaches, awesome diving, killer snorkeling, elephants,
Port Blair BeachPort Blair BeachPort Blair Beach

By far this was the largest group we've seen on a beach so far!
cows, and great indian food. The pace of life is so much more subdued and everyone has lazy days. Oh, I can't forget the food. It's great. We've had masala fried fish, coconut fish curry, curried prawns, some great eggplant and potato dishes, and COLD DRINKS! This is the only place in India that we've gotten cold drinks! I guess these people understand the need of a nice cool beer.

Well, I've got to go hunt down some andaman trinkets before my flight......I'll be in Sri Lanka tomorrow! I've already picked up one great Kasmhir sapphire, so half a dozen Sri Lankan sapphires (as well as some other gems!) and I'll be ready to end this trip. Cheers all.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb