What a day!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
August 23rd 2016
Published: July 9th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I'm finally in Asia!

After arriving late afternoon the evening before and making it to my hostel, I decided the best thing to do would be to go out and explore. See if I could find the office building I needed for tomorrow.

When my alarm went off at half 7am I felt dreadful. I had defiantly NOT slept enough and jet lag was happening, even now 11 months in I still wonder if I'm fully over the time difference.

Knowing where the office was that I needed to go to I set off with all my documents. I needed a visa to get in to China. I knew the office didn't open until 9 but after doing research I read that it could have long cues if you went to late. So by 8:15am I was standing in line waiting for my turn and no I wasn't first in line. After doing everything I had to and being told to come back the next day to collect my passport I had the whole day to do what I wanted.

I went back to hostel grabbed my camera and headed out.

I had already decided I didn't want to use the tube, I wanted to walk as much as possible and see what ever I could.

On the bus the night before I had see a big wheel and decided I would head to that and see about having a ride. I knew the rough direction I was heading for.

When I got to the wheel I saw a hop-on-hop off bus and realized with only a day that would be a great way to see as much of Hong Kong as I could. I bought the Classic 1-day tour which entitled me to three bus rides, a ticket for either the peak or Sky 100, a free star ferry ride and a free Sampan boat ride.

The first bus route I did was the green route - Aberdeen and Stanley an hour and a half bus ride.

When I bought the ticket I already knew I wasn't planning on getting off the bus at many of the stops. I wanted to sit, listen to the pre-recordings and see the sites. However my parent's had been to Hong Kong a few years earlier and I remembered them saying how lovely Stanley and the market were, so when the bus pulled in to Stanley I hopped off. This route also went past the peak entrance but I hadn't decided which ticket I would use.

Stanley was beautiful. The market was full of interesting things and small stalls. The water in the bay looked so inviting I was kicking my self for not brining my swim wear.

After walking around Stanley buying a few postcards and stamps I jumped back on the bus and did the rest of the green tour.

The next stop was Aberdeen Harbor. This is where the sampan boat ride was waiting for us. Explore Aberdeen Harbor on a traditional Sampan boat.

Weaving past the floating village and around clusters of local fishing boats in sampan ride was one of Hong Kong’s best cultural experiences - it was amazing!

Once back at the depot I did the red tour - The Hong Kong Island Tour - Another hour a half bus tour

Like I said I knew I wasn't getting off the bus and while sitting there being driven around Hong Kong Island listening to the pre-recordings about the history and the buildings in the are, with the sun shinning down on me, I fell asleep. Luckily not for long though. I also contemplated getting off to use the peak ticket, but when we get to the tram entrance and I saw the cue I knew staying on the bus was the right idea (at the time I didn't know I would go to the peak another two times through out my stay in China).

Back at the depot and after my quick nap it was time to take the star ferry over to Kowloon Island and take the blue bus ride - an hour and 15 minute ride.

I love views so and had decided to use my sky100 ticket - the highest indoor observation deck in Hong Kong. True it was getting late and would be dark soon by think of all the lights Hong Kong would have to offer.

After getting off the star ferry I went to find the closest bus stop and oh my was that hard. There was a short walk from the ferry terminal to the bus stop. After getting lost in a shopping center and having to ask people for help I finally found the bus stop. Got on the bus and went a grand total of one stop! It was the end of the route and the bus I was on was the last bus of the day.

I hadn't seen any of Kowloon and even though it offered less sites and it was now dark I paid extra and took the night bus. An hour bus ride through the streets of Kowloon. Again I stayed on the bus for the whole of this ride seeing so many lovely things - night markets, the light show, the lights the other side of the river.

By the end of the tour I was exhausted. I made it back to my hostel, realizing I never made it on to the big wheel or do the sky 100. I wouldn't have changed the day for anything though, for me being the first time in a new city, a new continent sitting on that bus, listening to the recordings and seeing the sites was the best way to learn about the city.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0868s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb