An over protective observatory...Typhoons in Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
October 21st 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's Wednesday evening and the weather is perfectly normal...
There is however, a typhoon headed towards Hong Kong, but it is over 500km away and is not having any effect at the moment. It's predicted track makes it seem likely that the weather will get considerably worse and windy, but for now everything is fine.

Being a kindergarten teacher, if there is a T3 warning, I do not have to go in to work because the weather is too bad for all the small children to travel. Primary schools and secondary schools are unaffected.

...


I woke up on Thursday morning to find that the T3 signal had been raised at 6am that morning, just in time for school to be cancelled for the day (unless it is lowered by 11am and I would have to go in at lunchtime). For me, it was like a free holiday! The weather was normal and I could go about enjoying myself while the little ones missed out on my teaching and stayed in away from the "wind!"

Typhoon 'Magi' was still headed towards us on Thursday night, and sure enough on Friday morning, it was still a T3 signal and I had another day off....and a four day weekend! Result! I went about my free days, with some shopping, some serious gym action and lunch with friends! All thanks to the Hong Kong observatory raising the warning signal to a T3. After the threat of Magi heading straight towards us, it then decided to veer right off course and we were saved the danger of a real typhoon strength wind, which can cause serious damage.

One of the joys of teaching kindergarten in Hong Kong...T3 days off! It's seriously a light breeze and nothing more!

One happy Miss Jennifer!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.458s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 25; qc: 131; dbt: 0.2039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb