Greetings From Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
September 13th 2004
Published: January 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hong Kong - the first week



lei ho ma! (How are You in Cantonese) Well, I have arrived safely in Hong Kong, and seem to have lost the jet lag. As most of you know, I am here to teach Kindergarten. I start on Thursday. The people I am working for have been really great. They found me an apartment in a small village about 10 mins from an MTR (subway) station. So its in a rural setting but real close to the hustle and bustle of the city. All the other teachers live in the downtown area in highrises (one girl is on the 47th floor), but im on the 2nd floor in a 3 story building. My employers have already got me a bank account, a bunch of stuff for my apartment and my ID card. One night I went out with all the teachers for a day around the city and a night of boozing. (Santiago teachers: you guys are way more fun) We went up to the top of the "Peak" - this is a mountain that overlooks Hong Kong harbour and the skyline. Wow, its really cool. Ive taken photos which Ill have to send
HK at nightHK at nightHK at night

view from the Peak
later. The culture is much different here. There are chickens and meat hanging in open store windows all over the city. And with the humidity it stinks - everywhere! Ive done quite a bit of exploring and its quite simple as everything is in Cantonese and English. And everything is really organized and high tech - perhaps a little too much! The grocery store was something else. Particularly the seafood and meat sections. Very unsanitary. Its gonna take me a bit until I buy any meat from these places! I cant think of much more to write right now, so ill let you all go, but keep in touch and let me know whats happening in your part of the world!
later JIM



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Tai Po TsaiTai Po Tsai
Tai Po Tsai

My apartment is in this small village. Near Sai Kung.
Tseung Kwan OTseung Kwan O
Tseung Kwan O

I worked mostly in this part of Hong Kong
Victoria Harbour and Hong KongVictoria Harbour and Hong Kong
Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong

My place is over the central hill way back in the distance
HK at nightHK at night
HK at night

view from the Peak


Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 23; qc: 111; dbt: 0.1025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb