Hong Kong olympic torch relay and some hiking


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
June 3rd 2008
Published: June 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a long pause I thought I owe you readers some fresh literature. Well maybe I won't go as far as calling it literature but just some thoughts and interesting things from the past couple of months.

I spent May Labour Day weekend in Hong Kong which happened to coincide with The Olympic Torch Relay. Lucky enough I happened to be, by mere coincidence, exactly in a mall that had a bridge over a main road where one of the runners was going to pass. Stood waiting for a while but eventually low and behold the runner did turn up. Not sporty by any means, well perhaps if you consider frogs sporty.

One might think that Hong Kong is all built up, sky rises, with cutting edge economic businesses that make up the overcrowded city. That is true. What is not so known is that the city only comprises about 10% of the total landmass on HK SAR. This left another 90% for me to explore. Unfortunately the weather was not at its best, and I did get a tad sweaty - completely drenched - but nonetheless, had a nice hike up some trails that led to the ocean.

This is finals week, which means that it is my last week of work here at UIC, baruch hashem! Coming Monday I am going to Guangzhou and there meeting up with my friend to go travel for 9 days in Yunnan Province in western China, bordering with Tibet to the north east, Sichuan to the north, Guangxi to the east, and Vietnam and Burma to the south and west. I will try and make it up to the foothills of the Himalayas!

Following that I am heading out to Malaysian Borneo for 10 days and then to Bali Indonesia for another 10😊

Hope you are all very well and enjoying the weather as much as I am - monsoon season (endless rain and heat and 99% humidity when its not pouring down)

Lots of love,
me

xoxo

PS- It was great seeing everyone in England and I am indeed very thankful to have been there - it was a very special and memorable visit for me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb