I’ve had brighter days and more glorious moments…it sucked then but it’s an entertaining story now


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

This is definitely not my most glorious moment; actually, there is no glory in it whatsoever.

So last night was our last night in Hong Kong and me and some of the other people decided to make the most of it and get all dressed up and go to this classy restaurant at the top of the hill that over looked the city. We had an amazing time kicking back and talking about the trip over two bottles of wine, fish, chicken, and a few other unidentifiable foods. We decided that there was no way that we were going to sleep before our flight and defiantly not our last night together in China so we did what anyone would do; go bar hopping.

We headed to this adorable bar district, similar to Mill Ave. at ASU (a bunch of bars one after another all the way down the street). I was overwhelmed with joy when I realized that I was pretty much walking down the street of the world; there were people from every country going in and out of the bars! Good music, hot guys, great friends, it was bound to be an amazing night. Feeling pretty good, Maggie and I split another bottle of wine at the first bar which was a cute little Mexican place where we all kicked off our shoes and danced to the salsa music. A bottle of wine, few margaritas, and a few complementary shots from the bartenders later, we walked down a few to the next bar. The next bar is by far my favorite bar in the entire world.

It was Italian themed and it felt as if we were in Italy when we walked in. The front was entirely open with a small bar surrounded by a bunch of Europeans while light Italian music played. I walked back a little to this door where a bouncer was standing, smiled and him, (classic, I know) and he opened the door and I waltzed right in not knowing what to expect. Inside was a live band, everyone was dancing, and I instantly made friends with a much of Argentineans sitting at a table nearby. It didn’t take to long for Missy and everyone to realize that I wasn’t coming back out (they had sent me in to see if it was worth while or not) so everyone came in after me. Missy and I ended up hanging out with the Argentineans and I also made friends with a couple of guys from Holland!!

The rest of the night is history because my plan to stay up all night failed…I woke up to Fei screaming at me that it was 7:40 am, I was supposed to leave at 7am to get to the airport, and throwing all my stuff into my suitcase and telling me to hurry up and get dressed! Still drunk at this point, I was tossed into a cab and sent off to the airport.

On the way to the airport I was freaking out checking for my passport, flight tickets and such and all of a sudden stopped. I looked up and realized that the driver was on the wrong side of the road! I freaked out even more and taped the drive on the shoulder and said “Mr, you’re on the wrong side of the road!” He laughed at me and replied, “Miss, I think you are still drunk. You are in Hong Kong where we drive on the left.” Startled for a moment, I sat back and just laughed it off and relaxed for the rest of the ride.

I go to the airport and checked in just in time and then went to get breakfast hoping that it would help sober me up. After breakfast, I saw the rest of the ASU group going through check and I went to scream out to them! To my surprise, I had almost no voice and just started laughing and they all came over anyways. Maggie, who had been drinking the wine with me all night, started laughing and she told me that she was still drunk and the only thing I could get out was “me too!”

Lucky I made my fight from Hong Kong to Beijing (3 hours) and had the whole row to myself. I laid across the seats and passed out before the plan even took off. Here’s where it gets good. I woke up a few minutes before landing feeling really warm. I sat up and wasn’t feeling too good…but not horrible. I felt my fingers tingling and my head started spinning a little bit so I started taking deep breathing hoping to hold whatever was about to happen a few minutes since we were landing. No such luck. I eyed the barf bag, dry hurl, grabbed the bag and silently threw up…twice. Feel much better and severely grossed out by myself, I closed the bag and looked around to see if anyone had saw. It didn’t really smell, thankfully, so I gracefully got up and left the plane. Feeling a bit better but not much, I went to the bathroom and threw up….again. Feeling much better, I brushed my teeth, washing my face and was ready to face the world, well China, again.

I decided that I needed to eat before my 12 hour flight to San Fran so I went to the restaurant and ordered spaghetti. This was the hardest decision ever since I was scared I was going to throw up again and I wanted something that would calm my stomach. I could only take one bite at a time and it took me and hour and a half to eat only half the plate. That was enough for me.

Onto my next flight I got the window seat of a full flight. I had to make it through this flight gracefully. I got on and went to sleep immediately hoping that I’d feel better. I woke up when the meals came around and declined every single one scared that the poor engineer student next to me would have to see his meal again in a second form.

I landed in San Fran, went through customs, starving, and got some lunch. After a few bites I was feeling better and within 20 min, I was feeling good, no more drunkenness, no more hang over! I was ready for my last flight down to Phoenix, but I was not ready for what I encountered.

I ended up sitting next to this guy Chet who from the second I pulled out my ipod when I got on he asked what I was listening to. He’s a talker, damn. I talked with him a little and found out he was traveling with the man next to him, Dan. They were telling me that they were landing in Phoenix and then were catching a flight up to Flagstaff then driving to Sedona to rent motorcycles and travel all over the southwest with a group of other people. Our flight ended up leaving a bit late and they only had 30 min between the flights. Dan was freaking out the whole time and Chet wasn’t doing much to clam him except continue trying to talk to me and him at the same time. They were both trying to brain storm ideas the entire flight about what they were going to do and yada yada. I put my headphones on not wanting to hear their problems and went to sleep. I woke up to the flight attendant telling me to put my seat back up and they were still going at it! I finally gave them a solution to their problem, a pretty simple one to me, and they were completely grateful saying that I should have planed their trip for them! Uh! The last 10 minutes of the flight consisted of them telling me about all these places they want to go, if I’d been there, and if I had any advice.

Escaping them I got my baggage and to my surprise, my friend Katelyn, her mom, and our friend Emily were waiting for me in the airport with a sign that said “Welcome Home Heather” It was soo sweet I almost started crying! Lol. They helped me with my stuff and they got my home.

Ah, home sweet home. San Marbeya never looked so good. My trip is over but not the school work for it. Now I have two 14-page papers to write! Ick! But thankfully I’m no longer drunk or hung over.

So what did I learn from all of this?

1. Don’t drink so heavily before an international flight.
2. Fei is the most amazing roommate ever.
3. I now know what the barf bags on the plane are really used for.
4. I have a great story to tell about drinking and flying!
5. Never Again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb