Farewell to Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Ma On Shan
January 22nd 2013
Published: January 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Tonight is my last night in Hong Kong. I've been in Asia for exactly a week now. It seems longer but I've loved every moment. I'm still in the honey-moon stage where everything feels new, exciting, and full of adventure and the unknown.

Tomorrow, early in the morning, we're taking off for Xiamen University in mainland China. I really have no idea what to expect. I have been hearing some intimidating stories. Hong Kong is very much westernized. The transition from the U.S. to HK was not a difficult one. All of the signs here are translated into English, and most of the people here can speak English as well. However, China is a completely different story. Most people don't know English, the food is completely different, and I'm not expecting any western toilets either. I've been reassured there will still be hot water for showers. This comforts me.

At this point, I'm anticipating the hardships and unknowns. I have a feeling I will come to a place where feeling clueless will get really old. I'll want to hang with the American group because that will feel the most comfortable. I am determined not to stay comfortable. The key to a successful experience will be interacting with the Chinese students.

Hong Kong was the stepping stone. China, here I come!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb