Suits and hike


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
July 27th 2014
Published: July 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Not a whole ton to report, but I got some kind of cool pix to share so I will put them here.

Yesterday I went in to Kowloon to pick up my suits! I was super excited to see how they looked. I am very pleased! I took the ferry in which was fun, but we couldn't go outside. I got some cool shots of the Hong Kong Skyline from our trip in. After I picked up my suits, I decided it was too nice of a day to head back to Discovery Bay so I decided to take the train back to Central Hong Kong and take the raised sidewalks to the mid-levels. The mid-levels are high rises on the main island of Hong Kong as opposed to the rest of the buildings which are on reclaimed land from Victoria Bay. The way up is fun as it is primarily on escalators that go up most of the day, but come down in the morning for commuters. Some cool places to take pictures. I then headed through the zoological and botanical gardens and over to the tram to head up to Victoria Peak. The line was over an hour long so we headed back down for an "authentic Chinese" lunch. We wandered around for a while and then headed down an alley way where I saw what I thought was a noodle shop. It was indeed, and it seemed like everyone was wondering what a couple of white guys were doing there. Nothing was written in English and there were very few pictures. I can recognize "milk tea"(奶茶) and Noodle (麵條) but that is as far as it goes. Notice from the pictures, there really wasn't anything in English. We both guessed and as far as I'm concerned, we won because we both got something that was edible. Headed back down to Central to catch the ferry home.

Today I went for a hike up one of the mountains here on Lantau Island. The hike started out with 700 reported steps, but I only counted 568 so I must have accidentally cut out 132 steps and believe me when I tell you, I'm ok with that. The hike was cool, it was a very clay based material that was slippery even when it was dry. My view of HK was beautiful although a bit hazy so sorry the pix didn't turn out that great. I noticed a big ol storm coming my way and I really wanted to make it to the top and at least part way down before the clay turned into a slippery sloppy trail to break my ankle on. The way up was steep and as usual I was dripping with sweat. The trail does cross a small creek and I used that as an opportunity to dunk my head and face in. The water wasn't very cold, but it was nice to not be tasting salt for a few minutes! I drank 3L of water on the four hour hike which ended up down in the Discovery bay pier. I stopped to get a Donner Kebab and as I was waiting at the counter I had created a puddle around my feet from my dripping shorts. Yes, you read that correct. I sweat so much during my hike that my shorts were physically dripping sweat on the floor of the walk up kebab place. I was really wishing that the big storm had actually hit as that would explain my soaking wet clothes, but it blew north of Lantau and it didn't rain a drop. Oh well.

That's it for now. Enjoy the pics.

Ian


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



29th July 2014

Suits and hike
Ian, you are really making an adventure out of this. It is good to do that while you have time. You will probably get a lot busier an the job gets going. Some great pix. I like the hydro-foil.
29th July 2014

Google Translate?
Ian, have you used the Google Translate on your iPhone? I'm sure that's a stupid question but it's pretty cool. Haven't traveled overseas with it yet but it looks really useful. You can even have someone speak into it and have them translated for you. Awesome pics as always. Was thinking about you and the family this weekend. We had the airshow at Elmendorf and I took Torsten for the first time. Just made me think of when you were up here and we took Connor. Stay safe bro and eat some sticky pork dumplings for me.
29th July 2014

Google Translate?
Hey Zefross! All that good stuff takes up a lot of data which is super expensive over here and it really isn't necessary. Unless you get way down some back ally everyone speaks enough English to get by. Thanks for the idea though! Give my love to the kids and wife!
31st July 2014

Sweat and Suits! Lol
First, great blog as usual, Ian! ? Where are the pics of you in your new suits, though? Lol HK sounds soooo humid! ? Make sure you're staying hydrated!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb