I made it!!!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
July 15th 2014
Published: July 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone!

I made it to what I will now call Beautiful Hong Kong. The pictures below sort of show what my flight was like and I must tell you, it did NOT feel like 16 hours. I have had 2 hour flights that were more painful. I normally don't board very soon, but today (well, yesterday technically) I boarded as soon as we were allowed. I had seat 11A which was the first row of business class. It was a "pod" seat meaning that I had my own little area to hang out in. We left about 23 minutes late as customs was doing some spot checks on about 15 pax and that delayed us a little bit. Before takeoff one of five identical flight attendants came by with a bar cart asking if I wanted anything. I chose (wisely I might add) to just grab some water. My first of 8 bottles of water over the next 16 hours. Shortly after take-off we were given the menu for lunch and our first course of scallops and a salad. I chose the chicken for my main course and didn't take a pic as it really didn't look all that appealing. It tasted fantastic though!
After lunch was four hours of homework which was actually enjoyable as I had all the room I could possibly need for my computer and mouse. Got everything done that I wanted to get done and was often served new bottles of water and warm nuts. We then flew 100 miles from the North Pole which was off to our right but I was on the left so I couldn't get any pix. I mean, what are we really going to see? White! Once I finished homework I watched the movie Divergent which took me to dinner 8 hours in to the flight. For dinner I chose the lamb and I made the right choice, it was awesome.

My goal was to stay awake as long as possible so that I could land here today, take care of a few things and go to bed around 8-9pm local time and try to get on HK time. If there is anything in this post that doesn't make sense, it is because I have only slept for a few hours of the past day or so. After dinner I did some more homework which was sort of pointless as I really couldn't focus on much, it was 8pm EST and I was tired, but only had six hours to go. I watched "A long way down" which is a pretty good indie type movie. When the movie was over I got up to use the bathroom for the 27th time and when I returned my bed was made. I must say, it was as comfortable as I had hoped, I did not put my PJs on, but I did enjoy a two hour nap waking up with only and hour and half to go. The pics toward the end are obviously from my seat showing what HK looks like from the air. I had watched so many shows on the airport and searched the area extensively on Google Earth that it was surreal to see it all with mine own eyes!
We landed 15 hrs and 47 min after take-off and it didn't feel like it was more than a two hour flight on a regional aircraft. It really is the way to fly on these long flights. I made it through immigration in no time, had my bags and was off. I was greeted by a NetJets guy who looks exactly like Josh (my brother). I even started laughing a few times and had to fess up that it was too weird looking at him because he really does look EXACTLY like Josh. He lives here at Discovery Bay with his wife and two kids. I think it was the icing on the cake for a good trip to have him waiting for me. I would have been able to make it here by myself, but it sure was nice to just be able to have him lead me here after travelling half way across the world. Ok so enjoy the pics, I will send more of the area that I am staying at tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



15th July 2014

So Glad!
So glad you made it there in style. Looking forward to your updates. Great pix.
15th July 2014

Hey man -- my mouth is still watering from the pix of your meals.
As I have often said -- some one has to fill these accommodations on the aircraft -- but frankly I wish it were me -- but at the same time I have been there already a few times but I must admit I was not delivered there on a magic carpet like you were. Thanks for the great pixs -- it sure does bring back memories. I hope you have had an opportunity to get some sleep -- you will be able to talk better Cantonese if you do. Lou
16th July 2014

This is awesome! I read this twice. I can't wait to hear more! Love you bro!
21st July 2014

Wow!
It looks like you really traveled in style! :-) The pics are great! Looking forward to your next post!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb