Day #143: Ngong Ping


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
August 23rd 2013
Published: September 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

This is not the best time of year to visit Hong Kong: every day the islands are shrouded in thick cloud. I had been hoping for a clearer day to visit Ngong Ping, but none had materialised, so I gave up and went anyway. I have been on quite a few cable car journeys on this trip but this was by far the most vertigo-inducing, travelling way above the river and hills up to the Buddha.

The immediate area around the Buddha is very built up and full of sellers (Would I like to buy a ticket for lunch at the temple? A photo of myself on the cable car? A souvenir t-shirt?) and the temple is being re-developed into what looks like a several-story mega-temple so is covered in scaffolding, but most people don't venture beyond this point. Going further I discovered various well-marked hiking trails and was sorry that I hadn't dressed for walking, although I did climb for an hour or so in the direction of the Lantau Peak, a pleasant walk crossing streams and waterfalls, and offering what would be great views of the Buddha on a clearer day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement




Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb