A long way from home...


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
June 30th 2006
Published: July 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hong Kong SkylineHong Kong SkylineHong Kong Skyline

THe elusive shot of Hong Kong Island looking over the harbour from Kowloon.
After having been upgraded on my flight to Hong Kong, I arrived in good spirits to a very hot, humid city. I arrived in the area in which I will be staying for the next few days: Mong Kok. The night before I left London I spoke to guy who had lived in Hong Kong for a year and amongst other great advice he described Mongkok: "It's a shit-hole, mate!". (great, i thought!) The Rough Guide entry was slightly more diplomatic and kind, merely saying it was an example of a "more authentic local Chinese neighbourhood". In reality, I was struck by shades of both these descriptions. It's a supremely over-populated, congested and "non-touristy" area but after a while, there is a certain charm to it. I must admit, I was failing to see this charm throughout the hour I spent walking around in circles trying to find my damn hotel! The neighbourhood is chock full of small diners/stalls serving, at times, incredibly smelly local food, none of which I have yet been brave enough to eat - maybe tomorrow?! As well as this, there are more facilities which serve what seems to be Hong Kong's national (sort of) past-time: shopping! Even late at night, large regional chain stores are open to business and the streets are full of people wandering in and out of the shops - shopping just seems to be their obsession!

In the evening I took the MTR (basically the tube) into the Southern part of the Kowloon side of Hong Kong and had a look around the notorious Chunking Mansions - a huge tower block where the less celubrious of hostels/guesthouses reside and at the bottom of which lie various dodgy shops selling cheap tack, fake everything as well as offering to tailor suits - not just yet thanks!

I continued south on Kowloon and tried (in vain) to take a decent shot of the beautiful nightime vista over the harbour to Hong Kong Island before boarding the ferry. Once on Hong Kong Island, I made a bee-line for one of Hong Kong's most popular spot to eat and drink: Lan Kwai Fong. I made my way through the narrow streets of this area, avoiding drunk revellers as I went and found a nice spot to get a bite to eat. From here, I could look out and watch all the amusing goings on, including an impromtu dance by a load of Canadian Ice Hockey players and their respective cheer-leaders (at least, I assume they were cheer leaders!).

Two beers was enough for me considering I hadn't slept properly in a good 24 hours and given that I smelt like crap (my ruck sack didn't arrive off my plane so I have no spare clothes, it's due to be delivered tomorrow) so I went home, planned the next day's activities and went off to a well earned sleep in my lovely box of a hotel room.

Advertisement



1st July 2006

I never realised you could write so eloquently, Drew! Be good x
1st July 2006

Glad you made it
Hi, glad to see you made it safe and well, looking forward to hearing about all your adventures!!
2nd July 2006

Hi
Hey Drew, glad to see youe there safely, hope you have an excellent time. Hope your going to put your photos on facebook as you go. Rebecca xxx
3rd July 2006

The New Love Shack is being warmed up, at times of lonliness i smoke pipe on your bed. Good work so far boss, id be loving the fake stuff, like i need any encouragement anyway. take it easy.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb