Hangin' in Hong Kong!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
April 12th 2006
Published: April 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The four of us in Hong Kong!!The four of us in Hong Kong!!The four of us in Hong Kong!!

Here we are the inseperable four!
Hi everyone!
I’m now back on the ship after being in Hong Kong for five days. I had a great time in the city with my three friends who I always travel with Jacy, Annee and John. I found out I had strep throat the day before we got to Hong Kong and I ended up getting an allergic reaction to the antibiotics the nurse gave me. I had to switch antibiotics before I got off the ship. I’m all better now but it was not fun when I had it. In Hong Kong we found a very tiny room to stay in, one of us had to sleep on the floor but it was cheap! First John slept on the floor for the first two nights, then he got a little feisty and we decided we would step in and rotate. 😊 Hong Kong has the best people watching ever! There are so many people everywhere and they all wear the coolest clothes. The city reminded me a lot of New York. I got really bad food poisoning one of the days, which interrupted one of the biggest shopping spree’s I’ve ever had in my entire life. I traded trying
having funhaving funhaving fun

us with a local girl we met one night, she was really nice!
on clothes for sitting next to a toilet in a public mall bathroom for an hour. It was good times to say the least. However, I couldn’t fit into a lot of stuff-they don’t make clothes there MY size especially shoes! ha ha Whenever I would ask if they had my shoe size they would laugh! Oh well… Other than that, Hong Kong had amazing things to do and see. Went to a museum for a day and saw some great Mark Rothko paintings and other post modern art exhibits that were very, well, Asian. Spent one night before dinner watching a crazy light show that all the skyscrapers put on to music. They had laser beams and LED lights streaming out of the tops of all the buildings and it was set to music. The Hong Kong skyline was amazing. It was such a contrast to the country that we have been seeing these past few ports, but that was what made our five days there so cool. It was a change for all of us to just be in a city together and to be surrounded by so many people. We took the subway all over the place,
Hong Kong at NightHong Kong at NightHong Kong at Night

the streets of HK...
which was really fun and walked everywhere. One day we took a tram up to Victoria Peak and saw a breathtaking view of the whole city. We stayed until it got dark and saw all the lights come on the buildings. In the place we stayed at they did foot massages on the level below us and they were always passing out flyers everytime we walked into the building. The last night Annee and I decided to get one, it was cheap. It was so cool because it was reflexology and every part on the foot is connected to a certain part of your body. One of the first things the guy said to Annee was -you havn't gotton enough sleep lately, and the night before she only slept for 2 hours! He could tell just by massaging her foot-it was crazy. The guy who was massaging my feet said my throat was bad-and I have strep throat...Annee and I were blown away. It was a very nice and relaxing 30 min. The days flew by while we were there. We only have one more port left- Japan! I can’t believe how fast this semester has gone by!! I’m getting
Jacy and IJacy and IJacy and I

here is Jacy and me out on the town one night!!!
mixed feelings about the semester coming to an end but I can’t wait to see you all when I get home!! I send all my love!! xox



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

HK SkylineHK Skyline
HK Skyline

Here we are at the night light show.
The streets of Hong KongThe streets of Hong Kong
The streets of Hong Kong

Just another picture to give you a feel of the place.
A Bite To EatA Bite To Eat
A Bite To Eat

check out the guy in the background!!
Riding the MetroRiding the Metro
Riding the Metro

on our way to Hong Kong!
Hong Kong at NightHong Kong at Night
Hong Kong at Night

no words needed...


12th April 2006

Hey Doll Baby!
Love the photos and the city stories of Hong Kong!!! Here again you look so happy and - Hey cute clothes!!! Have fun on the last leg of your trip sweetie!! We'll see ya soon! xoxoxo Mom
15th April 2006

ahh! i just saw mal for the first time in forever... and finally found out how to see your blog online. i kinda feel like an idiot for not finding out earlier. anyway, didn't have time to read much yet but did get to browse through some pics and skim a few entries! gotta go to work, but i will be back to READ. miss ya :)
17th April 2006

Too Cool
Hey T: By the time you get this you will be on the way to S Diego. Your pictures of Hong Kong were really nice. You look great, and it appears that you've made some forever friends. Look forward to seeing you this summer. Lotsa love.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb