Horses are in the Olympics, too


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
August 4th 2008
Published: August 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hong KongHong KongHong Kong

View from Victoria Peak
I met an Austrian woman eating street food and she's in Hong Kong working as a logistics and design person for the equestrian events for the Olympics. I'd noticed all of the jockey and horse billboards everywhere but just thought Hong Kong had some famous jockey competing. Turns out that all of the equestrian events will be held in Hong Kong. The Austrian said that more than 100 planes full of horses have been flown in and that many of them get jet-lag just like we do but all have arrived healthy.

I had my palm and face read by a man at the park so now I know what to expect 😊 It was totally worthwhile for $8 US and he even took notes for me to have since his English was a little choppy. And I bought some herbs from an herbal store-luckily it was Sunday so the kids could translate for their grandma.

As I walked around and took the MRT trains I kept noticed big groups of women sprawled out eating food they had brought, playing cards, talking and laughing. Finally I stopped and asked one of them what was going on. It turns out
Hong KongHong KongHong Kong

Goldfish street
they are workers in low-level jobs (mostly house-cleaning) from the Philippines and other places and during the week they work Monday through Saturday and only get from 2 to 4 hours a day to sleep. Sunday is their only day of rest so they all get together and have a good ol time.

I caught the end of the light show at the harbor against all of the skyscapers-really nice-and met a couple of Mexicans who were great company for the rest of my time. I never thought I'd be using my Spanish in Hong Kong. They even convinced me to go with them to China, took me to their visa contact person, submitted paperwork but at the end couldn't change my flight so I had to cancel and now I'm headed home...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Hong KongHong Kong
Hong Kong

Mis cuates in front of skyscraper in new Batman movie
Hong KongHong Kong
Hong Kong

My little translator at herb shop
Hong KongHong Kong
Hong Kong

Women on their day off
Hong KongHong Kong
Hong Kong

Night skyline


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb