Saturday - complete Cable cars, elephants and a big Buddha


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
August 29th 2014
Published: August 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

For my first full day in Hong Kong I decided to go exploring. I had a city map and had noticed that they had a able car which lead up to the great Buddha. I enquirer at reception as how to get there, and was given some helpful advice by an English girl who had been there herself.



So armed with the info I headed off to negotiate my way on the tube. First stop was Macdonalds for breakfast. I then found an entrance to the tube as inward told there were several entrances I was bound to find one. I sussed out which line and direction I needed to travel and also how to get a ticket. I boarded the tram went for a couple of stops and then changed lines and rode the tram to the terminus. I total I think the whole journey took about an hour end to end.



When I came out of the station I was greeted by a heard of elephants lol. Not the real kind of course but brightly painted ones which were part of an exhibition. Each design was an original by someone famous, most of which were Asian/Chinese so I didn't recognise any names apart from Chris Patten who I think was the last British governor of hing Kong before it was handed back to China.



I then went over to the cable car entrance and took my place in the queue. It moved forward a few people at a time and as luck would have it I was stopped just before I could get through as the allotted number of people had gone through. I was then collard by a travel promoter who told me about a trip which included the cable car fee, a bus to the fishing village and a boat ride and a walk up to the temple and Buddha. It cast a bit more than if I did it all myself but it also meant I could by pass the queue for the cable car, bonus!



So I paid for my ticket and got a voucher and then walked up past the great and the good queuing. I'm so pleased I bought the ticket as it saved me waiting in line for hours on end. I got near the ticket kiosks and waited for about 10 minutes and then had to exchange my voucher for a ticket for the cable car one for the tour and a sticker which I had to stick on me so I was easy to spot as a tour group person, and a map.



I waited a couple of minutes and then moved past yet more queuing people to,get in the cable car. I shared it with a family including a.baby, young boy, mum and dad and grand parents.



As the car climbed higher we had amazing views out over the sea, the airport and the hills. I got a touch of the colly wobbles and began to wish I hadn't got on! When we got to the first station I wanted to get off but there was no,opportunity to do so. I was stuck. Grandpa got up a couple of time to take in the views and I was willing him to sit down. The cabin was swaying a nit in the breeze which added to my fears. I had the sweats and butterflies in my stomach which made things worse. The family were chatting and obviously passing comment on the views and lots oooo's and ahs at the views and each time we sent over the supports and the canon wobbled a bit. I just focused on my breathing and not looking down and checking the time to see how long i had left to go.



The signage said 25 minutes for the journey but I think it was more like 15 thank goodness! We arrived at the top and got off and had to walk through the gift shop. When I got outside I have to say I was surprised by what I saw. Lots of shops, ice cream parlour and places to eat. I nipped to the ladies and grabbed a subway sandwich as my tour was due to start at 12.30 and on my map it showed me where I had to meet my tour guide. I turned up on time, gave in my ticket and was directed to the bus. I was the 3rd person on the bus, took a seat and started to eat my lunch. Ore people got in and the tour guide checked the number of seats available and told me off for eating on the bus as there was a sign saying no eating! However I had nearly finished so just ignored him lol.



The bus filled up and me and 2 other ladies were the only other westerners on the bus. Our guide spoke in English and Mandarin Chinese. We took the bus to a fishing village and took a boat around to see the houses built on stilts and then went out to see where we saw a pink dolphin! Yes readers a pink dolphin. Only one but he or she popped out of the water a few times. Sadly I wasn't quick enough on the camera so no photos, but it was a very pink dolphin almost like he had been painted that way. We then headed back to the village where we had some free time before getting back on the bus.



We returned to our departure point got off the bus and walked up,towards the big Buddha. We passed various tourist outlets including one selling chop sticks and another selling items connected with Chinese theatre and opera. All the buildings and pathways are relatively new as the cable car only opened in 1996. The path was made of grey blocks and there were 12 statues each depicting the 12 different Chinese years e.g. Snake, rabbit, goat etc. we got to a large expanse where there was a band stand like structure from which you could see the Buddha. To get to it you had to climb up over 200 steps.



We continued to walk up to the temple but were unable to go inside for some reason. They are currently building a new temple behind it. After the usual tour guide stuff the tour ended precisely on time and we were then left to wander on our own.



I tackled the 200+ steps up to the Buddha to take a closer look and admire the views it was one way up the steps and one way down to manage the large volume of visitors. It was hot and humid and I was feeling tired and sweaty. After visiting the Buddha I headed back down to the cable car and stopped for a wander round the shops and concession stands before getting my return VIP ticket for the cable car. Again it allowed me to pass everyone queuing and get on the cable car quickly. My nerves were much better coming back which was a blessing. This time I shared with a couple and their toe,young kids and a guy and two girls.



After getting off the cable car in headed back to the hostel and found my way out of the tube station and after trying to get to the food court in the Times Square shopping centre I came out feeling very hungry. I had a wander around and got my bearings and then found Pizza Hut!



After eating I did a quick bit of shopping for essential supplies and then went back to the hostel, shower, change and an early night.



Xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.1037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb