26 August Hong Kong -a City within a City


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
August 26th 2019
Published: August 26th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Boarded on time and had the lovely company of a Chinese/Hong Kong resident as my companion to Hong Kong. He didn’t speak much English but a smile says it all. A thorough gentleman. Insisted on making sure I understood the buttons etc. And basically we both slept, ate and acknowledged each other along the way. My sleepy pill only did half it’s job but it was ok and as the lights in the plane came on, breakfast served and time to land.

I haven’t been to Hong Kong airport since 1998 shortly after the new airport opened so it was a bit of a new experience. It’s huge! My first time in Hong Kong was in the 80’s when it was the ‘old’ Hong Kong before China rolled in. I vividly remember coming into land between 2 high rise buildings and being close enough to see in the apartments. The new airport has given way to a new experience.

High above the white, fluffy cumulus clouds the sun was beginning to rise. Serenity at its best. It’s like nothing else exists and induces a peacefulness within. This was then followed by some bumpy turbulence as we descend through some dark rain clouds that seemed to come from nowhere. And soon... a vista of water, boats and the Hong Kong Mountains I remember so well coming into view. As we descended further the heavens opened and the misty hue stealing the mountains was beautiful. It was the Hong Kong I remember. Disembarked, through to transfer to kill five hours and the commercial glitz stinging the eyes. A huge shopping complex that I had no interest in exploring. So I find my way to a masseur and have my feet and back pummelled for an hour followed by a shower- a new woman emerged to relax before taking on the next 12.5 hour journey. Hopefully a bit of snoozing and maybe binge watching a show I haven’t seen or a movie or two. Arrive in Paris after dinner... so a shower and bed ready to embrace the new dawn in gay Paris!

Au revoir
Suzanne


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb