A day in Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Wan Chai
September 6th 2013
Published: September 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My day in Hong Kong consisted of walking mostly. I started the day with no real aim but to wander the streets and do what I wanted to! Spolied I know. Breakfast started at a 7-eleven and a starbucks, purely because I spoke no cantonese and no one seemed to speak any mandarin. English however was widely accepted.

I found myself at Shun Tak shopping mall on Victoria Harbour. Some really nice views of the Harbour there. I found myself getting on the MTR (subway) to Wan Chai where I found the Hong Kong Convention and exhibition center. Outside the convention center next to the water was a beautiful golden statue of a flower known as the Golden Bauhinia. This is the flower on the Hong Kong flag and holds a lot of meaning to Hong Kong people. I think I was the only western person who was looking at the statue!

After wandering around the area for a bit I went inside the convention centre and found that they were exhibiting the Hong Kong Watch and Clock Fair. Not much that I could do in there as you could only buy stuff if you were a buyer for a company. But the watches were cheap! They had Chinese girls all dressed up in ball gowns trying to sell you stuff, the dresses were beautiful!

After I left the convention centre, I went in search of food. I had walked past a place earlier that looked like it sold nice dim sum and actually managed to find it again! I think I must have gone up the back entrance and was totally taken aback by what I saw when I came in the waiter's stairwell. It was the most fancy chinese restaurant with half a dozen crystal chandelliers and purple curtains. Big tables with lots of Chinese people talking over each other. I was very out of place with my sweaty face and shirt (it was about 30 degrees and 70% humidity) but they still gave me a table, with the biggest judgy looks! I had pork buns, shanghai dumplings and prawn spring rolls, all very tasty. I tried to pay by card and it turns out you have to spend at least 150HKD to pay by card. woops. so they got a 50% tip.

After walking everywhere for about 5 hours I was pretty tired and went back to the hotel.

Just before sunset I went walking again. From my hotel window I could see the harbour and a soccer pitch, so I headed off in that direction. i found the Dr Sun Yat-sen memorial park and a really nice view of the harbour to watch the sunset. Other than taking a few photos of the fountains, attempting to get selfies infront of the lit up harbour and watching some chinese kids playing with the bubble blowers there's not much else to write about.

Tomorrow I leave for Guangzhou!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb