Spring Fever


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Stanley
March 16th 2011
Published: March 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: 60 secs
2: 89 secs
P2250002P2250002P2250002

creepy santa :)
A sad thing happened about 2 weeks ago. My dragon laptop died. It is no longer. Luckily I have been able to get everything off of it. So no real tragedy.....except for I have lost my cool laptop with dragons on it. We had a nice life together...

So I have been waiting and waiting to put up these pictures from the Philippines! I hope you enjoy!

Life here in Hong Kong has been different the last couple weeks. I am finding myself a little bored in my life here- which is strange because I am really busy with school and choirs and socializing. I am just not finding things as exciting. Maybe I need a trip or a new project (as if planning a wedding isn't enough!) I do get excited when I plan the wedding and where Adam and I are going to live next year, but that means that I keep looking forward instead of looking in the right now. Maybe it is just because it is almost spring time and I am restless. The weather here keeps going back and forth. We will have 3 days of 75 plus weather and then it goes back
P2250003P2250003P2250003

monument for Magellan
to 65 (I know......I shouldn't complain.....) BUT beach season is ALMOST here. I just wish it would be here!

The last couple of days we have had our student led conferences, which is an interesting event. The students lead their parents through what they do at school- it is not like an open house, the students actually do things they have learned. So they come to music and show their parents something on the xylophone or on an instrument. It has been quite amazing in some cases to see what these 4-8 year olds can do! I will be posting some photos and videos from this later! I realize that I have not shared much about what I do at school. Marcia has recently created a blog and her blog is about the music we are learning and what we are doing at school. I think I will try to write more about what I am learning through my teaching here at HKIS. 😊 Just so you know what it is that I am actually over here for! Why I left all of you... 😊

I am conducting a piece at the community choir/high school choir concert next Thursday. It is Give Me Jesus by Larry Fleming. Larry Fleming was a conductor at Valpo many years ago- one of the community choir members had him when she was there. The Chorale also performed this piece in Germany last year.....It is a small world. I am a bit nervous about conducting this- I have not done something like this in a long time! I hope it goes okay. 😊

Also. Dana comes to visit me next Tuesday! I am excited for her to be here. I think she will probably be glad to get out of Tokyo for a little bit, with everything that has happened. At our school we are setting up a fund to contribute to the efforts in Japan. A lot of our students and parents are Japanese and still have family in Japan. We are keeping all of them in our thoughts and prayers!

Sorry for the rambling post. Those are most of my thoughts at the moment. 😊 Enjoy the pictures from the philippines! And make sure you check out the videos!




Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

P2250006P2250006
P2250006

monument to the guy who killed Magellan
P2250017P2250017
P2250017

dinner!
P2250019P2250019
P2250019

Jackie choosing her dinner.
P2250020P2250020
P2250020

Kids dancing!
P2260024P2260024
P2260024

on the way to our boat
P2260025P2260025
P2260025

one of our boat guys (kids)...notice the lovely weather!
P2260027P2260027
P2260027

on the boat! I thought Jackie was crazy for wanting to do the boat day on this day....since it was raining and cold, but it ended up being one of the best days ever!


Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb