It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas....


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Stanley
December 12th 2010
Published: December 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

544544544

Santa's miniature golf palace
I am surprised to say that the title of the post is somewhat true! Besides the weather that I am USED to experiencing at this time of year (we have dropped to somewhere in the 50s-60s here, watch out...cold front!) Christmas has really exploded all around me. All of the malls have quite elaborate Christmas displays, and our school puts out a tree and decorates with lights. There are carolers and shoppers and all around good cheer.

There has also been a lot going on to help get me in the holiday spirit. We have had two Holiday Shares, one with Grade 1 and one with Grade 2. Both of these went very well and there is a DVD to come! Let me know if you are interested in watching. 😉 We also had our Community Choir concert (with the HS, MS and Upper Primary Schools) on this past thursday. That was really lovely- all of the groups sounded great! The room was totally packed as well. I played piano for the middle school, which is something that makes me very nervous but it is a good skill for me to improve and continue to use. I have to say that for the most part it went very well! I didn't have to run off the stage crying....

This week is a full holiday week as well. Tomorrow I have tea with the administrators, then caroling and snacks at the high school. Wednesday we have our Christmas chapel, in which I will be singing a song a two 😉 as I have been known to do from time to time...Thursday we have an after school faculty get together and Friday we have an all school Christmas assembly. And then I leave on Saturday!! I can't believe this week has already come! Tonight I packed my suitcase full of presents. I feel a little bit like a Hong Kong Santa Claus. 😊

I had a great weekend this past weekend. I have to say I have really started to find some wonderful people and friends in this place. I did SO much shopping this weekend (for myself AND others) that last night I slept for about 9 hours and still needed a nap today! I hope I can wear myself out enough to sleep a lot on the airplane. If not.....who is going to be getting up at 3am
546546546

Thanksgiving dinner number 1!!
to hang out with me and my jet lag???

My kitties are doing great. Sometimes annoying and crazy, and other times very loving and cute. I will miss them for the two weeks that I am gone.

I think that is about all I have to report. I guess one other thing is that Marcia, my colleague has decided to retire from her position at HKIS. She struggled with this for a long time and I am glad that I was able to be there for her and be a help in her life as she has been in mine. We have grown into having a close relationship- both of us trying to figure out what to do with our lives now. It has led to some great conversations. I think she will be happy with her choice and I wish her the best! That means that there are now 2 music positions to be filled at HKIS. I am a little nervous that they might talk to me about a full time position there. It is probably unlikely since I don't have much experience, but I am trying to think about it a little bit in case it does happen. I am not sure how I would feel about it. Part of me is feeling like I am coming to love this place and what is available for me here, but another part of me always misses home and the comforts of family and the things I know. I guess I will cross that bridge if it comes to me. 😊

Enjoy some pictures from my Hong Kong Thanksgiving!!!

Love you all! and see you soooooooooooooooon!!





Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

548548
548

my friend Kelly
549549
549

Jackie and me
550550
550

before
551551
551

most of these people had never had thanksgiving before. they were local hong kong people.
552552
552

Chris
553553
553

after
555555
555

apple pie
556556
556

Thanksgiving number 2!!
558558
558

ham in a bowl.....
560560
560

football!! not live, but thats okay!


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb