One week down....


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Stanley
August 21st 2010
Published: August 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Woooo! I made it through my first week of teaching. 😊

I wanted to wait until I knew I had made it. The first day started out pretty rough. I wasn't mentally prepared for how bold and talkative the students would be. These kids were not at all shy- in fact, in some cases it was all I could do to reign them in! I should have known better, I suppose. It's just that everyone here talks about how great the kids are and how much they want to succeed, so I just thought they would be a little different. But I have to remember, kids are kids.

So I came back for Day 2, totally prepared to be mean. And on that day....I didn't need to be! My classes were great. And it went really well the rest of the week. I had a few difficult students/situations, but for the most part it got better. So maybe I just got better- or got into the groove. The number one rule is if something isn't working...you gotta look at yourself first.

I was nervous that I would find myself alone all weekend, but I managed to get in an IKEA run and a lunch date with a friend today and tomorrow I have shopping plans! I was pretty proud of myself today. I had some banking issues, so I got myself to the bank downtown, solved the problem, got some keys made, bought new make up, found my way to IKEA, got what I needed, ate lunch, and found my way back. It is starting to feel much more natural.

I think next weekend I might be going to look for a cat! (Sorry dad). I am ready to have some company in this place.

All in all, this week was good. It feels really good to be getting into a routine. And to feel like I kinda know what is going on.

And it only gets better from here! (I hope!)

I still miss all of you!!

Love,
Laura

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb