Hong Kong? - Book a room before you go...


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Repulse Bay
February 28th 2011
Published: February 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It’s almost eleven, dark and scary, I'm by myself in Hong Kong... It wouldn't be this bad if I had a place to sleep... I don't ...

I'm an idiot like I established long ago, and sometimes I do really stupid things, like for example going to Hong Kong without any reservations, during the Spring festival.

So it's really late and where am I? In a very 热闹(full of life and people) place - Chunking Mansions. A single girl, in a place you can disappear for ever, but on the bright side my bag is not very big or heavy – now I love myself for not taking that hairdryer, and I hasn’t been attacked, yet.
But I’m tired, after queuing for ages to buy train ticket, getting here on foot from Shenzhen and looking for this place… I need to sleep.
I try again the website (BTW the best website to book a hostel; hostelworld.com), no luck there, I try to beg the internet guy, he’s got the ‘it’s your own fault you silly b***’ attitude. … I could stab him with a pen!...

I go back to the full Chunking Mansion nr 3, the old lady looks like a nice person, she calls somebody, and than somebody calls somebody else… in the end after answering a series of pretty personal questions – what’s my religion, skin colour, age etc. – I get to stay for one night with the hotel owners’ family. I get the house key, a high school student shows me the room – can’t be really called a room. A cupboard is more what it is – single bed, no window, wet bathroom, TV set. Thee in one for 105 HK dollars, I feel like the happiest person on Earth – I got the bed!

And who says you should always book a room in advance?



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb