Davit Gareja


Advertisement
Georgia's flag
Asia » Georgia
July 11th 2015
Published: July 15th 2015
Edit Blog Post

July 11, 2015 - This morning I watched a documentary about Canadian wildlife while I started to repack my things. There was a Native American following the animals, taking pictures, during a full year, in all weather conditions. It was narrated by someone else, and every time he refered to the man in the video, it sounded like he would say “Our hero”. But I guess the guy’s name just sounded like that. Made it more interesting though, knowing he was our hero. I really wished for a sitcom in the background, but could only find this or news. And I find the news depressing, unless delivered by Jon Stewart.

I met the others around 10:30 and we waited for the bus to go at 11am. There was a woman there who gave us some info and a map, so we knew what we could do once the driver dropped us off. Davit Gareja is an area with old cave monasteries. We were able to hike up and see two of them. It was quite a hike, especially with my flip flops. I still haven’t managed to get my shoe fixed, so I am stuck with these shoes for now. It was a really hot day again, and felt worse with the strenuous climbing. But on the other side of the ridge in Azerbaijan. I decided not to go on this trip because the visa was expensive and a little difficult to obtain. But there was a railing there that we had to pass on both sides of, and apparently that is the border with Azerbaijan. So unbeknownst to me at the time, I had a picture taken of myself in Azerbaijan! I am so counting that now as a place I have been to, since I worked so hard to get there. J And Azerbaijan can suck it, making their visa process so difficult. Now I don’t need to go back to count it.



The trip got back at 7pm and then I still had to make it back to the apartment, check email, etc. It was another late night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

ViewsViews
Views

Can you see the first monastery down below? I've climbed so high!


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb