Back to school (in Georgia)


Advertisement
Georgia's flag
Asia » Georgia » Tbilisi District
October 3rd 2014
Published: October 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today I felt like I just started school all over again, only in a country, culture and language I have perhaps an elementary understanding at the moment. I joined Archil at the school and think I learned more than the students in some regards. But I digress, let's start with last nights dinner.



After our trip to Kazbegi yesterday we took some time to recoup. Yesterday afternoon mirrored the routine of many of my Sundays. Sleeping in, thinking about what to cook for dinner, buying dinner, and cooking dinner. I decided that in the spirit of the Georgian supra I would introduce some American dishes to the Georgian table. Only with the aid of Papa Carlo and Salome, Archils wife, and Mariam, Archils baby daughter, was I able to accomplish the task of locating all the ingredients necessary. I walked into the French owned mall market with one goal in mind: Chicken Parmesian.





Noddles, flour, eggs, oil, milk, nutella, all kinds of italian and russian tomatoes, spices galore, pan fry steak, Georgian sausages, bread for bread crumbs, whipped creme, parsley, mushrooms, chestnuts, grapes, ice cream, grapes, several cheeses, powdered sugar, and about a half dozen loaves of bread and butter - last night we had an American Supra. We started cooking at 4 pm and were ready by 6 pm when Archil returned from school. During the cooking I learned that Papa Carlo and Salome enjoyed the vintage folk music I had in the background and the music and smell of Italian Georgian fusion cooking filled the air (there may have been some smoke too, but hat was probably due to leaving he bread in the oven to toast for 5 mins too long).











The plates were set, wine was poured, and I assembled the pasta, chicken. Cheese and sauce in neat layers and we began toasting. I was pretty surprised that even though Salome had to the he ingredients for me and I had no means to measure I made a dinner worthy of asking for seconds from several parts of the table. Last night I was the host and appointed Archil chief toastmaster. He toasted he environment that brought me up and taught me exceptional cooking skills. I thanked him, then Salome toasted to where I am from and the family in Pittsburgh. It was my turn to toast and I couldn't ask for a better Segway. I lifted my glass and thank each of them for their toasts and told them as their home was mine, my home will be theirs. Obviously, much like Tblisi, Pittsburgh can be confusing for out of town guests to navigate. I excused myself briefly and cam back to finish, I always find it easier to get around if I Have a map. I handed Archil a black bundle he unrolled showing in yellow writing Pittsburgh and he city of Pittsburghs neighborhoods on a map with words of neighborhoods creating the map of Pittsburgh. He was quite pleased and we drank to shared communitie. On opposite sides of the world.

Here is the only picture I took of the feast.



Today we went to one of the top privates schools in the Republic of Georgia - Buckswood International School.

Here is a link to their website - http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buckswood_International_School_–_Tbilisi

Archil is the Headmaster of the school, which the Ministry of Education in Georgia visited while we were in Kazbegi (bodo she Archil again for having you miss their visit) to present the school with an award recognizing them for their excellence in education. I had seen the schools Facebook page, but had no real idea what to expect. We drove several miles from Archils home to the school. He explained the school to me and how it mirrors some of the organizational structure of Harry Potter, with four different houses that spanned a variety of age groups. Archil explained the biggest change was the addition of 14 brand new school buses, and we passed several on our way to school. On our way to the top of a hill where the school is located we pulled over to pick up a older man. We have done this several times and I find that Georgia is so small and everyone knows everyone it's like everyone is family. In fact I can recount one example for you. Do you remember reading about my second supra with Mamukas 50th birthday party? Well during our time sampling Kincali in old town Mtskheta we were done with dinner and walking to the car and I saw a face of Nina and reintroduced myself and aArchil was surprised ai remembered her. In Kazbegi we ran into 3 other gentlemen we saw at Mamukas supra. This country is just that kind of place.

Archil asked if I could guess where he old man was from, and I couldn't. It turned out he was from Abkhazia, one of two territories taken by Russia in 2008. He explained he had little notice, and was forces to flee leaving behind family he doesn't see, land he cannot tend to and a house that bares little resemblance to a home. He was happy to get a job at Buckswood and was one of over 50 professional staff members at Buckswood.



The school is completely updated, with two artificial turf fields. Archil and I chatted near the main window as bus after bus rolled into the academic property. The day started with aArchil giving a brief to staff members, which was followed by parent, student and teacher a like stopping the office to meet with Archil while I read. At one point, Archil asked if I would like to teach an english lesson. I couldn't turn it down and was looking forward to it so he walked me to the 6th grade room. The previous teacher introduced my with courtesy and there I was, me and about 20 Georgian students.

I had not prepared an english lesson for non native speakers before so I channeled the advice of my colleagues from work and school in the US - KISS (keep it simple stupid). I began the lesson with a brif introduction of who I was, how I came to know Georgia and what I was here to accomplish, in this instance it was to help them learn aaa out th English language. I started asking questions like who can name a state in the us or a city? The most pleasant surprise was this line of thinking got the students talking and interested. It was very good for them. We had some students who spoke out of turn, but that is to be expected in 6th grade. The good thing was that the class spent some time engaging in the lesson. After class was over I prepared my remarks and gave them to the headmaster, and my friend, Archil. After class was over I had some initial impressions that you might have If you had been in the room. I proceeded to go to the computer lab the rest of the day to cstch up on the latest news in Pittsburgh. Towards the end of the day we headed to the weekly Friday assembly to wrap up the weeks events. Despite knowing very few words in Georgian I enjoy the event. At the conclusion aArchil and I met the founder of the school and he informed me his host parents were Duquesne University graduates as well when he spent time in Atlanta, Georgia. It was an excellent experience and aArchil asked me for my feedback from my time spent at the school. I did my usual SWAT analysis, but in the course of conversation I learned a lot about the inter personal communication between Georgians. This type of discussion helped both Archil and I get a better understanding of the challenges the students face. It was a great back to school moment where ai learned a lot. Attached is a picture of the lunch room where the different houses sat.



Later this evening we attended the supra of Archils godfather and I was amazed by the event. But it merits it's own post. Stay tuned for me making Kinkali, the daughter singing and a general good catalog of pictures from the events at Vajays house.

Here is a sneak peak of me making Kinkali.

">


Also change of plans, Batumi is next tomorrow.



Best,

Tim

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb