Arriving into Hong Kong and taking the Metro


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
January 13th 2017
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 22.33, 114.18

We arrived into Hong Kong, got our luggage, and made our way into the main Welcome Hall at Hong Kong.  First of all - bathroom break.

Then we found the exit from Airport Express Metro to take us to the heart of Downtown Hong Kong.

I had done quite a bit of research for the cheapest yet unique hotel that we could stay at.  When we have traveled to Germany, we stayed at a Novetel hotel, so I checked to see if Novotel had properties here.  Their subsidiary, IBIS, is located in Hong Kong.  I read lots of "reviews", that ALL hotel rooms are VERY VERY Small in Hong Kong.  Ibis Hotel is right on the Harbour.  I selected a harbour view, since while we are on the NCL Star, we do not have a window, patio or suite view.  <a href="http://www.accorhotels.com/gb/hotel-3563-ibis-hong-kong-north-point/index.shtml" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">This hotel</a> is near the church we'll go to on Sunday.

7.1 million people live here.  New York City has 8 million people.  I read this "makes Hong Kong the fourth most densely populated region in the world, after Macau, Monaco, and Singapore. "

We navigated through the subway lines.  For having arrived at 9pm, there sure were lots of people traveling on the MTR (just like CTA in Chicago).  I guess Hong Kong is city that never sleeps.

Here in Hong Kong because of the British rule, the traffic is opposite - cars drive on the left.  You even walk on the left.

Yes, the room was small.  We are organized.  We have 1 large suit case, 1 medium suit case, and 2 small pull behinds that have Glenn's sleep machine, my computer and other stuff.  I told Glenn because our room is so small here in Hong Kong, that when we left DFW, I didn't want to open up our 2 larger suitcases.  We have remained organized.

We checked into our room around 10pm, and traveled up the small small elevator to the 22nd floor.  As I write this post, I'm on a small table over-looking this huge window, watching barges, boats sailing through the harbor.

I woke up early, since my body clock said "Hey, you are in Hong Kong, its time to get up!" 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb