China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
November 18th 2010
Published: November 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

When going into Hong Kong and China I really had no idea what to do. I knew that I had a trip planned that would take up most my time, but as for the first and last day they were totally free. So when first arriving to china it took a while to get off the boat. Immigration was a terrible and took way to long. So once we finally were able to get off the ship at 11 Amy and I decided to go out. Everyone was going bungee jumping. Amy and I were going to go watch but that was a waste of a day. So we came to the conclusion hop on one of those topless busses and travel the city.

Thursday
There were three different paths we could get on and we started with the green, thinking we would have time to continue on to the red and blue. While taking the green bus we saw the 4th tallest building in Hong Kong, it was a finance building, and then after that we saw the convention center. Then we passed the Happy Valley horse racing track. This was used in the Olympics. After that we went through a 1.9 kilometer tunnel. This tunnel helps reduce time to the south by twenty minutes. We then passed Ocean Park. That was a theme park with pandas and an aquarium. We decided not to get off for that and continue to Stanley market. On the way there we passed repulse bay and a famous floating restaurant where many people ate, including Tom Cruise. We then passed the deep water bay and the golf course. Many locals go there to barbeque and enjoy a fun day in the sun. Before we knew it we arrived at Stanley. Stanley was the last place to fall, and there were graves of many soldiers. Then we got to the market. This was a market that was huge market to both locals and tourists. It wasn’t pushy at all and we could get everything we wanted. We then were headed back so we had a chance at the red line. But when we got back on the bus we rethought our options. This bus ride was fun. Not many people were on it and Amy and I were goofing off. We really felt like dogs hanging out a window. We would lean our heads over and once a tree hit us in the elbows. We then decided to get off at Ocean Park. We saw PANDAS! So cute! Then after that we went up to the top. We went on water ride and roller coasters. I actually went on my first upside down one. REDICULOUS! Before we knew it we had to go so we could be back for dinner. Amy went out with her friends and I met up with Colin. After dinner I just went with Kayla to use internet and get some food. Everyone else was going out to drink but I just wasn’t in the mood. So I went packed and went to bed.

Friday
Today was a very low key day, We took a cab to the airport around 9, took an hour drive, stayed in the massive airport for 2 hours until our flight at noon. The flight had over 45 semester at sea kids on it. But our friend Emi wasn’t there. We were freaking out because we didn’t know where she was but we knew she could fend for herself. Once we left Hong Kong we arrived at Beijing. Our tour bus picked us up and we got to the hotel at 6 o’clock. We got to choose our roommate and that day I met Tracy. We never met before that day, but we really hit it off so we decided to room together. We then went to dinner immediately because we were hungry. We got so much food but it was amazing authentic Chinese food. We got sweet and sour chicken with pineapple and spicy chicken with peanuts. Also fried rice and NASTY spring rolls. Those were the only ones we didn’t like. After dinner we came back and watching the opening ceremonies to the china games. The china games are more intense than the Olympics. They were crazy insane. After watching those we tried to go to bed. The beds were hard as rock and we just couldn’t; we only fell asleep for like an hour then we woke up to drunken people coming back. They were so loud. We overheard people, and then finally got to bed.

Saturday
After waking up and having an interesting breakfast. We were off to the Forbidden City. The Forbidden City held 24 emperors throughout many centuries. It has 9999 rooms, this was because 9 was a very important number to emperors. My favorite part about the Forbidden City was the colors. They were bright red, yellow blue and green. The red represented china and the yellow represented the earth. After the Forbidden City we went to Tiananmen Square. This is one of the biggest squares over the size of 60 soccer fields. This is where many important events happen; I also learned this is where the story of tank man happened. After we went to lunch; lunch was amazing. There were so many dishes however you only got little portions of each dish. It was good because you wanted to try everything, but bad because you never got a chance to eat seconds of what you liked. It was fun because there was a huge lazy Susan that all the dishes went on and you just turned them to get what you wanted. After lunch we went to the Silk Market to get things if we needed them for the great wall. Loved but hated the silk market. I bought 2 pairs of uggs, why? Because they were cheap, and definitely not necessary. I also bought gloves and hat so I wouldn’t freeze that night. I was glad because I know I will wear all this stuff in Colorado again. Before we went on the two hour drive to the Great Wall I grabbed some ice cream from the silk market and it was amazing. Possibly the second best on this trip. I definitely wish I could find a place to get Indian ice-cream in Colorado. By the time we got to the Great Wall of China it was pitch black and we couldn’t see anything. It was dinner time and we all got more food. However, it was terrible. We ate only 3 dishes out of the 10. We then grabbed two sleeping bags each and a pad to sleep on. Then we hiked about half a mile to the first tower. Tony, our guide made sure we got the first tower which was awesome. When we got to the tower we set up our beds, and then noticed they had snacks. Oreos, chips ahoy, coke, sprite, bread, and beer. Lots of people drank. I had a beer then it was way too cold. Some people were already hammered by dinner. One girl fell down the stairs of the great wall, not the brightest. It took a long time to fall asleep. Once I did I was awoken by drunk people yelling MONGOLIA! The Mongols are attacking and then they threw bread on us. While it was funny, it made me realize I was cold. I was super glad though because I brought my pillow. Nobody else did. I then fell back asleep till Sunrise

Sunday
Sunrise was beautiful. We saw miles of the wall and rolling mountains. However, we all stayed in our sleeping bags because it was only 10 degrees out. It took a while till we decided to get a move on. We packed up the sleeping bags, rolled up the mats then hiked them back down. After that we hiked back up and had breakfast. Rolls, granola and milk, and some people tried to had some beer, however it was frozen! The Great Wall is over 4216 miles long, and we only hiked 6 miles of it. We hiked the Gold Mountain Ridge section of the wall. It was so breath taking words really can’t describe. I called my parents just to say thank you and how much I love them. It was crazy. Before we knew it the hike was over and we were headed to the Olympic Stadium. SUPER COOL! It was hard to believe two years ago I knew people swimming in the Olympics. We didn’t actually get to go inside but the outside was cool enough. The water cube was huge and so was the birds nest. After that we went back to the silk market. This time I looked around more to see if I really wanted to buy anything else; Of course I did, I bought a cute jacket. We then waited for everyone to finish shopping. I split a pizza because I was starving. While sitting and waiting for the pizza there was some random guy started doing magic tricks. It was ridiculous; he would pull cards out of his mouth, and shove straws up his nose. It was so cool. He made everyone super entertaining. We then went back to the hotel. We went out for dinner again. I only split a plate but it topped off my hunger. We then came back to the hotel. Everyone got into one room and played two truths and a lie, however I was super tired and decided to pass. I definitely am not one of those people who can stay up late and drink over and over again. So I went back to my room, took a really long HOT shower then read a few chapters then went to bed.

Monday
Today was the last day to spend in Beijing. Super excited to see what the day had to hold. I woke up for breakfast and had a nice carb loaded one at that. Toast and bananas, couldn’t get much better. After breakfast I got on my phone and chatted with a few friends. It was awesome. Then before I knew it we were on the bus and headed to the summer palace. The summer palace was destroyed twice and finally rebuilt for the third time. The dragon lady rebuilt it with money from the navy, causing china to lose a maritime battle to Japan. The dragon lady was in charge of the summer palace ruled over three emperors. She had control over her son, nephew and grandson until she died. She basically ruled through them. The summer palace looked exactly like the Forbidden City which was cool. At the summer palace there was also the longest corridor of hand painted paintings. After that we were headed to Hutang village but on the way there our bus hit a guy on a motorcycle. He was ok, but it was very interesting to see how other cultures law works. It was very efficient for how big the population was. However, the process was nothing like the US. We then arrived at Hutang. We took rickshaws and went to a home to have lunch. This was an amazing lunch, we had many dumplings, probably my new favorite food. We then learned how to make them! It was so cool! After that we took the rickshaws back to the center of Hutang to watch a drum ceremony. This was the coolest thing I have seen, or so I thought. We then had 3 hours till the acrobatic show, so of course we went back to the silk market. I told myself that I wasn’t going to buy anything. However, I did. I bought paintings, and a kite. The kite is going to go in my room with my piñata! I’m so excited just to go back and decorate. We left the silk market and took the subway to the show. It was crazy; we basically had to run to the station, on the train and crowd in there. It was very hectic and crowded, but super fun to act like the locals. Once we got to the acrobatic show I was blown away. That was definitely the coolest thing I have ever seen! I couldn’t believe it. The stunts and tricks they did, half of it never seemed possible. My favorite was the catapult, and the circular ring. If only words could describe it. After the show we had dinner. We had the famous Peking Duck. SO GOOD! Best meal of the trip. Plus there was enough for everyone to have seconds. I was so full by the end of dinner.
We then arrived at the train station to take an overnight train to Shanghai. It was 4 to a room and go figure I got screwed over by a few of my friends. I ended up rooming with 3 people I just met at the beginning of the trip. Luckily I can get along with anyone and actually ended up being good friends with the girl. I went into Brad’s room for a while, but once 17 people crowded in I was over it. However we took shots for his birthday and said a special toast. It was emotional and made me realize how fast this trip is going and the bonds of friendship we have made. It’s getting to the bittersweet part. I only get closer with some people and its going to be very hard to leave them
Monday
Woke up on the sleeper train and had to get off at 7:30. Once we got off the tour had a bus waiting for us to take us back to the ship. We got back to the ship around 8:40 and after immigration we were back by on by 9:15. However they told us it would take 2 hours till we could get back off the ship. YAY! A two hour nap. I was super excited, by 11:30 I was ready to leave, yet passports weren’t ready. So Ed and I grabbed lunch on the ship and waited till I could finally get off around 12. We went to a market. Ed had to buy new shoes, and some gifts. We left by 4. We still had extra money so we spend it on some food that we knew we would want. We made it back on the ship with time to spare. The ship was supposed to leave at 8:00, but we didn’t leave till 9:30 due to high tide. So we just hung out on the ship, I fell asleep fast.

China was a great port. Amazing to see the second of my seven wonders of the world. The people were super nice and the food was amazing. While in china I know I did many touristy things, but I also enjoyed meeting with the locals. It was interesting being in a communist country, I learned certain things were banned and was definitely not surprised.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.734s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb