Yesterday - All my troubles seemed ........


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
March 19th 2008
Published: March 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm on my way to get a massage. It's raining and there are lots of people in slickers -- my favourite being the one with "raincoat" written across the back: the other option would be...........?

I came across a uniformed gentleman standing at attention under a very large umbrella (it was affixed to a heavy metal stand sort of like those outdoor heaters at sidewalk cafes). I thought, "He looks quite smart; I wonder what that's all about?" I stared around to see if anyone else paid him any attention -- then I saw the sign on the side of the wall nearby: "Consulate of Iran". I hate to admit it, but I held my breath as I passed as quickly as I could. Then I came to the next corner and see another one and figure it's another consulate. I scan the walls and have a chuckle: "Consulate of United States of America". Ah, poetic justice. It's not quite Iraq, but a smidge of poetic justice: side by side in China.

Next I ran into two guards and their umbrella area was actually cordonned off and made me walk in the street. Turns out to be just more of the US consulate. The guards are staring at me. Can't blame them as I am talking into my tape recorder.

Bye.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb