Saddled in Songpan


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
July 17th 2005
Published: July 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

DoorDoorDoor

This colorful door caught my eye.
We arrived in Songpan at 11am and I immediately signed up for a horse trek which left at noon. My other travel partners were unsure about their next plan so I said goodbye to them after about a month traveling together.

The other horse riders on the trek consisted of two french girls, one Italian guy and two new yorkers (go figure). We rode up some steep mountains and walked down the other sides to reach a small lake where we camped for the night. The guides preparred some great food including noodles, fresh breads and excellent tea! The night was a bit cold but we endured for the ride back the next day.

Back in Songpan, I was able to grab a beer with a large group of travelers from around the world (Dutch, English, Isreal, USA, German, Aussie) and swap some good stories.

Tomorrow is a 10 hour bus ride back to Chengdu to prepare for Tibet.

Larry


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

View of Songpan View of Songpan
View of Songpan

As we ride our horses along the steep narrow path, I snap this photo of Songpan in the distance.
Horsing aroundHorsing around
Horsing around

I take a break at the mineral water lake as the horses graze in the background
Cucumber saladCucumber salad
Cucumber salad

the group sits around our bowl of cucumbers as the guide (in the hat) surveys the land
Tent CityTent City
Tent City

Our luxury accomodations for the evening.
Breakfast cookingBreakfast cooking
Breakfast cooking

I wake up early and cook breakfast with our guides
ReflectionReflection
Reflection

My horse and I take a moment to reflect
Songpan City StatueSongpan City Statue
Songpan City Statue

As we ride back into town, we are met by this statue
City GatesCity Gates
City Gates

Like many older Chinese cities, a walls surrouned the city with two main gates.


26th July 2005

China
send me more. I am going next year.

Tot: 0.285s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 28; qc: 159; dbt: 0.1409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb