hangzhou2


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Zhejiang » Hangzhou
October 26th 2005
Published: October 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post



mon Oct 24
I had nine students in my first yoga class in China today. it is described as a flow class
but the equence was a modified astanga first series. i do my best to transcend the language barrier by demonstrating as i speak, delivering instructions with confidence and maintaining a sensitivity to the needs of each student. i am able to deliver a few commands in chinese
to the amusement of sean, the studio director, who is taking the class and who is almost fluent in the language. I see that it was challenging for the most part for most of the students
but carry on as i know that challenges are nothing new to these people.
i am also encouraged by the discipline of the predominantly female class, their focus, and the respect
that i feel coming from them.
skipped dinner with my colleagues. needed to be alone to ponder communication received via email from duncan, the director of teaching of the Y+ program.
bought some fruit along the way. adventured off the regular route, bought some more fruit and noticed lights from a number of small lamps down the dimly lit street. Discovered the night market
.....numerous stalls brimming with thousands of different kinds of chinese artifacts line both side of the street , then turn left and continue down another street.
i am not in the mood to shop or bargain but interested in and impressed by the objects on display. vendors beckon, and solicit wares but i continue on my way admiring the art and craft.
As i make my way home a voice, strange, but familiar hails me from behind.
i turn to see a brother, satchet over his shoulder, approaching me.
i am pleasantly surprised to see him. We greet, he introduces himself as Harry, an African from the Congo living in China for 3 years now. His blackness shines in the dark night .
his cornea and teeth like the milky way.
He's surprised that i have only been in china for 4 days .
"you look like you already know your way around", wandering down this dark street by yourself" he remarks.
"i 've travelled a bit " i reply.
"I can see, I can see", he says "here's my business card, call me if you need anything".
A pimp approach us "massage, you want massage"?.
Henry dismisses him with annoyance. i am slightly amused.
"call me" , he repeats hustling off into the night . his steps quick and confident.
"i will".



Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb