Bartering with travellers


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan
December 1st 2010
Published: December 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have made a couple of trades with fellow travellers.

I traded my China lonelyplanet guide for a Southeast Asia lonelyplanet while in Kunming. It was both a good trade and bad trade. Other travellers told me that the China border staff confiscate the lonelyplanet guide because lonelyplanet states that Taiwan is not a part of China. So even though I plan to return to China before flying back to Canada, I would have lost the guidebook. The bad part is that when I had a few beers and was rushing to catch my sleeper bus to Jinghong, I left the Southeast Asia guidebook at the Hump hostel!

So in Jinghong I went to the hostel to try to find someone willing to trade a Southeast Asia guide. I found Matt, an American, who I traded my old weatherproof jacket for a Laos roughguide. Hope he gets some use from it - since I bought a second lighter jacket when in Beijing, I have been carrying the other jacket. I only used it once.

I had many opportunities to trade reading books, but no-one is as interested as I am in The Great March. When I finish Women who run with Wolves, I might have trouble trading it. Most travellers are looking for popular fiction.

Remember too to carry a deck of cards - I've played a number of new card games with both the Chinese and foreign travellers. Considering that I'm not a fan of card games, this indicates how boring a long train ride can be.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb