Tiger Leaping Gorge (30 Sep - 2 Oct 13)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Tiger Leaping Gorge
October 3rd 2013
Published: October 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

When I was reading LP several months ago and thinking about this next leg of my travels in Yunnan, I already got the feeling that this part could very well be the highlight.

And it indeed hasn't disappointed. Tiger Leaping Gorge, one of the deepest in the world, where the mighty Yangtze flows through a series of rapids, and named after a rather implausible story, was my next stop. Legend has it that a tiger once leapt from one of the rocks in the middle of the gorge to the other bank to escape a hunter. As beautifully romantic it is, having now seen the rock and the 40m or so of crashing rapids the tiger would have had to bound over, I can safely say it really is quite impossible.

But before I got to the rock itself, there was the small matter of a two day hike through the "High Trail", a 20+ km winding, rocky path through the spurs of the surrounding hills. And what a hike it was, including a painful 2h-ish climb up the "28 bends", ascending, I think, some 600-709m in altitude to about 2700m. And as night fell, I was still barely
Middle Tiger Leaping RockMiddle Tiger Leaping RockMiddle Tiger Leaping Rock

From the viewing platform.
halfway there! After a quick night at the midpoint guesthouse, I was on my way again the next morning, negotiating another several hours through rocky paths and even mini-waterfalls! And then, already quite exhausted, there was the small matter of the 500+m descent to the river, and the Middle Tiger Leaping Rock. The 40 min steep, hairy descent, including a nosebleed high ladder that was fortunately optional, was pure punishment for the knees. And the 1h ascent back up was one of the most thigh-busting workouts I've ever had. Needless to say I was completely spent after the two days' exertions.

There is in fact a vehicular road that leads straight to the rock, which the domestic packaged tour groups tend to take. They zip in and out in a few hours. Daunted by the thought of the long hike, I'd actually contemplated taking this route. Then I realized it would have completely gone against the independent philosophy of travel that I'd been abiding by the past year and a half, so I scratched the idea and went ahead with the hike.

And it was all worth it.

It's hard to explain being so awed
QiaotouQiaotouQiaotou

Where the trek begins.
by the sheer immensity of the gorge and environs. Flanked by 5000m high mountains on either side, the gorge was simply a magnificent sight. Whether it's seeing the local farmers harvest their corn fields with their donkeys, negotiating the rocky outcrops, or gazing across the vast fields of blooming wild flowers bathed by the warm afternoon sunshine, the gorge was indeed an unforgettable sight to behold (as LP describes it) "every step of the way".

Stayed at Tea Horse Guesthouse and Bridge Guesthouse.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Here we go!Here we go!
Here we go!

23km I'm told...
First Glimpses of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain.First Glimpses of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain.
First Glimpses of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain.

Ascends to 5000m+. The gorge is flanked on the other side by the Haba Mountains of similar height.
Ponies for HirePonies for Hire
Ponies for Hire

I did not cop out.
Spot the Buffalo!Spot the Buffalo!
Spot the Buffalo!

No, that's a cow. Look closer.
One of several mini-waterfallsOne of several mini-waterfalls
One of several mini-waterfalls

Try negotiating the fast-flowing water and slippery rocks, right next to the edge of a steep ravine!
The Ladder (?)The Ladder (?)
The Ladder (?)

I'd read about a certain scary ladder used for the descent down to the Middle Tiger Leaping Rock. And when I saw this, I thought, ok, a little tricky but not too bad...?
THE Ladder!THE Ladder!
THE Ladder!

Nope, this was THE ladder! It must have been some three to four storeys high.
The "Safe" PathThe "Safe" Path
The "Safe" Path

Fortunately, there was an alternative, "safe" path instead of THE ladder.
Middle Tiger Leaping RockMiddle Tiger Leaping Rock
Middle Tiger Leaping Rock

But I made it anyway! Might as well make good use of the RMB10 I had to pay for it...
SedansSedans
Sedans

Yes some rich tourists get a lift all the way back up. Reminded me of ascending up to the Golden Rock in Kinpun, Myanmar, which offerred the same service.
Exhausted!Exhausted!
Exhausted!

You try hiking 20km+ and then climbing up and down a 500m rock face!
Farewell TLGFarewell TLG
Farewell TLG

It has been most memorable...


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb