Let's do this thing: Onset of the travels take 2...it really happened this time


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Kunming
August 1st 2013
Published: August 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

From the Kunming Airport I wrote the following:

It all got official with my booking of the tickets in the beginning of May. I rigorously searched for the right times and prices after finally deciding on a program. Since then it's been excitement and disbelief. I don't have words for my feeling toward this land. I think about setting foot there and I think about breathing in the air of it and whatever feeling this is, it's strong. It takes my beath away. I feel like I have to be there. I want-in my deep heart place-to be there, but I feel like it's more than a want. It just has to happen. It feels like this is big.

In definite ways it's important-significant just because I am doing what I want. There's no more to the reasons than that I want it, so I'm doing it. It feel like the first time ever for that feeling. No practicality. Also, I made it happen. I found a way and I did it. For me. Just for me.

I say all this in the 9th hour of my 14 hour stay throught the night in the grand Kunming airport. I found the quiet side set of chairs which few seem to have discovered. They settle for the first set which is crowded and loud. I slept like full hour and a half between 5 and 7am and that refreshed me and was about the only sleep I had longer than 3, maybe 5 minutes. With my suglasses dimming the bright lights and Sigur Ros singing me into slumber I still wake up to newcomers frequently who seem not notice that this is the silent sleeping spacious side. They chat it up with no realization or care. A woman spoke so loud and answered the phone with the great chinese yelling phone voice "WEI!" At 4 am I hated the woman but now, seeing that she's still here at 8, we are comrades and shared a great smile when we passed earlier. I did a lot of aimless walking. I discovered a pushing cart-well I walked by and through a million displaced carts and finally decided I am worthy of one. Like everybody else. So my and my best friend cart strolled through the silence of the abandoned middle hallway, I so ejoyed the silence there. With my cart I walked outside in the fresh air for a bit. I felt like a mental patient emerging from years inside. I am sure I looked crazy as well.

Check-in! Nepalis, I saw Nepalis and the little geniuses decided two make one line rather than separate into different lanes and make everyone hope they're in the faster lane. The Chinese didn't understand or care so it was a failed attempt but I admired the Nepalis for their consideration. I got separated from the Nepalis during security and wondered afterward why it took so long for them to reach the gate. I thought about what they may be doing since I'm sure it's better that what I've got going on, like some ingenius smart thing nobody else would have thought of. There's something in the water.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb