PRIVATE TIBET GUIDES


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet
January 20th 2009
Published: January 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Nuns in old town LhasaNuns in old town LhasaNuns in old town Lhasa

All photos are copyrighted 2008 by Marilyn Clark
Known as the "Roof of the World", I found out Tibet is one of the most fascinating and exotic travel destinations on earth. For the traveler looking for a world untouched by time, Tibet will stun and amaze you with its diversity and WILD beauty. Surrounded by vast mountain ranges in a myriad of colors, grasslands so green your photographs will astound your friends, beautiful people who still wear their traditional garb as everyday apparel, and a religious dedication and fervor unknown anywhere else on the planet, Tibet is almost the last of the WILD Asian civilizations. Come see it before it goes Western! Since the main enchantments are far off the beaten track, away from the cities (other than Lhasa, of course), curious travelers finally can visit these WILD rural areas, even with no Tibetan or Chinese language skills! more on attractions in Tibet. One of the reasons group tours are so popular in China is because without a tour guide who can translate, who can order food, negotiate a hotel room, and get you to a bathroom, visiting this very foreign land would be far too intimidating, even hazardous. But what about those travelers who cannot tolerate the time tables, rules and regulations of traveling with a big group of unfamiliar people? What about travelers who enjoy traveling alone or with one or two other people and doing what they want when they want? Without Tibetan and Chinese language skills, this type of travel in WILD Tibet is just about impossible. Even using a Lonely Planet guide, without language skills, what could have been a lovely and life-enhancing vacation could turn out to be a nightmare.

Since my two months in Tibet, after meeting some wonderful guides, I offered to make them a website to help them get some DIRECT business. All my learning, experiences, knowledge and photos have gone into this extensive site on visiting Tibetan areas in China. So even if you aren't looking for a guide, if you are interested in Tibet, please visit us at www.tibetanwildyakadventures.com. We're still working on it and appreciate any suggestions or comments. Thanks for coming along on the WILD Tibet ride!




Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Photo for cash pilgrimPhoto for cash pilgrim
Photo for cash pilgrim

Not many Tibetans asked for money to take their photo unless that was their business at a lakeside. This one in the Barkhor demanded a payment.
Raodside with donkeysRaodside with donkeys
Raodside with donkeys

"I'm a very old man. I've been running my yaks here my entire life. I'm getting very tired. Would you have something sweet?" Definitely my favorite Tibetan, my favorite photo! Yes, we gave him some sweets!
Beggars along the highwayBeggars along the highway
Beggars along the highway

Selling crystal rocks or just asking for donations, Tibetans have a very difficult time making ends meet since they aren't Chinese, don't speak Chinese and cannot afford the cost of a Chinese education. SAD!
Selling a rideSelling a ride
Selling a ride

With little opportunities, the Tibetans have found ways to sell what they can to tourists.
The most beautiful place on earth!The most beautiful place on earth!
The most beautiful place on earth!

From valleys to mountain tops, rivers, lakes, streams, wildlife, and color, there is no where on earth this diverse and gorgeous!


14th March 2009

great tibetan guide
I liked your comment. I really love traveling. Last year I went to Yunnan and I found a guide through the hostel I stayed in, and really having a private guide made all the difference in the world because I didn’t speak the language. This year I’m going to Tibet and I searched for private guide Tibet and found an incredible source at www.tibetanwildyakadventures.com. I just wrote to one of the guides. I’m waiting tho because March isnt’ a good month to get permits for Lhasa. What I would like to know from other travelers is if you have any suggestions about Tibet travel and what is the most important to see there. It’s my first time. All suggestions appreciated.

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.045s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb